We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle & Ball Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Swans Hotel(Hungerford)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
237
273
102
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
273
102
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innshigh streetsuperior roomcreaky floorboardsgreene kingeggs benedictold buildingfour poster bedbar areahis teamgood sizecar parkingold coaching innboth nightssalmonmain streetlovely town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We called as we were heading down the M5 and were booked in and then given full instructions on how to get there by Nigel. The hotel was renovated 2 years ago and is really sophisticated whilst retaining the charm of its age e.g. uneven floors and beams. The atmosphere was relaxed and we decided to stay to eat in the bar because the bar and the restaurant were so busy. The food was really nice - I had gammon and my husband had steak and chips. The rose wine I chose was delicious and the waiter seemed very knowledgable about the selection of wines on offer. There is a lovely beer garden at the rear and plenty of parking. In the morning the breakfast was plentiful and of a very high quality. A fabulous evening and we are very grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very proud of our hotel amd it's great to hear such positive feedback. We hope you will stay again in the future and have the chance to see the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times now on business and I will stay here again next time I am in the area.
All the staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are not the most modern in the world but if they were that would just spoil the place. The creaky floors and the decor just add to the charm. The rooms however are well appointed with good beds tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen televisions. There are plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom too as well as lots of hot water.
I've eaten in the restaurant everytime and never had a bad meal. I can also say I have never left the restaurant wanting more either. They were changing the menu the day after my last visit I hope they keep the fish and chips on it is definitely worth a try. Breakfast is good too with plenty of choice, the usual cooked breakfast or some lighter bites if you are still full up from the evening meal.
Everybody keep up the good work

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank truckdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, and don't worry, Fish & Chips is still on the menu! I think we would lose half our customers if we were to take it off!
Our new menu started last week is already very popular, lots of different dishes for you to try on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very friendly staff, despite being busy. Parking no problem at all. Good central location in town. breakfast good, waiting staff very attentive. For evening meals, reasonably priced food in restaurant but plenty of alternatives locally. Room 1 is on the ground floor and opens onto the beer garden. The depositing of laundry bags for the whole hotel outside room 1 at 6am suggests that Room 1 may not be the best choice. Otherwise all good, and would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babycake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I will look into the laundry bags at 6am comment, our housekeepers dont start that early and we dont get deliveries until later, so I'm not sure what that noise was.
There are lots of places on the High Street to eat, so plenty of choice if you are staying for longer than one night and want to get out and see the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter. We had a spacious room overlooking the High Street. It was clean with a good bathroom/shower, hairdryer, iron/ironing board & hospitality tray. Ample free parking on site. All staff were friendly, helpful & happy - to me a sign of good management. We had breakfast & dinner there and food was great. Could not fault this place for food or accommodation. I don't think there is a lift in so would not be good for anyone who cannot manage the stairs.

Room Tip: View of the High Street from front rooms, view of car park from rooms at back. Windows in our room at the front were double glazed so no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We all had great fun over Easter, busy but enjoyable!
Thank you for mentioning that we have no lift, it's good for future possible guests to be aware of that.
Really happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will be back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing Easter weekend break at The Castle and Ball.
Its well located in the centre of Marlborough and benefits from ample free parking.
On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by Richard at reception and all the staff we met seemed highly motivated and very friendly.
The hotel seems very popular with the locals and this creates a good atmosphere in the bar .Had a good evening meal with wine which was good value for money and the breakfasts were very nice too.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and would definitely return or recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambchop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your Easter break. It was a busy time and we all enjoyed it here, so it's great to have feedback from guests who agree.
Thnak you for commenting on the food, I will let the chefs know that you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews