We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - leave it for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle & Ball Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - leave it for us!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Right on the Marlborough high street, with off road parking, this is a brilliant place!

The staff are polite,yet friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived in time for dinner, but by the time we wanted pudding, the kitchen would have been closed, the superb waitress took our order early, making sure our son got his ice cream :)

It's an old building, so expect creaks and uneven stairs, low ceilings, and charm - you won't be disappointed.

The room was too comfortable (like most Old English rooms) - we didn't want to get up! The smell of breakfast did it..... coffee was strong and hot, the food was outstanding!

The customer service was great - staff remembered us at the bar, so we didn't have to keep producing our key for the tab, and remembered our drinks (which is probably a bad thing..)
Little things like this make a good stay, and this was definitely one of those!

We'll be back....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s01steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Sounds like your stay wasn't long enough! Really lovely to hear you all enjoyed yourselves, and glad your son got his ice cream. We hope to see you soon for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    246
    84
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
308
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We needed a hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby. I booked and paid 8 months in advance (!) and was told there was a 2 night minimum stay over a bank holiday w/e. During our stay, I was slightly surprised that others had been able to book for just Saturday night. Hmmm
Room: was great - clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast: adequate - no more.
Bar: not serving residents on Sunday evening, to my husband disappointment.
Obviously popular with families as noisy children of all ages were in plentiful supply.
I wouldn't say this is the place for a peaceful, romantic getaway!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel - car park view, but peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVE2EAT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't have a great stay with us, there is a 2 night restriction on most weekends, maybe your friends booked much later than yourselves when the rooms are opened up. the down side to this is that there is often no rooms left to book.
We are a family friendly pub so, especially over a bank holiday weekend, lots of families do like to come in.
Great to hear you liked your bedroom, and the being at the back of the hotel is a bit quieter than overlooking the High Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for just 1 night whilst working in the area.
The hotel is in a great location, right on the high street with access to numerous shops, cafes & restaurants. Parking is also available behind the hotel. I ate in the restaurant, food was good traditional fare served by friendly & helpful staff. Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.
The hotel bar is busy and a very nice place to sit, the hotel has lots of character with good local beers and is clearly a place that the locals also like to use.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have secondary double glazing - no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandgary3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Lovely to hear you had a nice stay even though it was for work. I will let the chefs know you enjoyed the food, breakfasts get lots of compliments which is great as it is a very time of day for us.
We hope you will stay again if you are working in the area, or maybe just for a break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A large group (15) of us ate here one Friday evening. We had pre booked our food to save time and it worked well. Staff were very good and efficient and the food was excellent. I had the steak pie and it was superb. The bar is very small and on a hot evening it was quite a chore to get drinks pre food but once sat down and eating the staff brought drinks to the table. Overall a great place to meet and eat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
See below response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A large group (15) of us ate here one Friday evening. We had pre booked our food to save time and it worked well. Staff were very good and efficient and the food was excellent. I had the steak pie and it was superb. The bar is very small and on a hot evening it was quite a chore to get drinks pre food but once sat down and eating the staff brought drinks to the table. Overall a great place to meet and eat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your review, really nice to hear that you all had a good time. The bar is on the small side compared to the rest of the building but glad you all managed to get served and have a nice meal. Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location by the market square. Cozy bar area. Didn't eat a proper dinner there, but had the soup of the day at one point - and it was delicious. The breakfast is below par. The usual English breakfast is available of course, but seems half-hearted, e.g. the scramled eggs must be some ready made stuff etc.

Friendly staff. Clean rooms.

A bit expensive, which drops the rating from 4 to 3 for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review, I can promise you the scrambled eggs are not pre-prepared but I will speak to the head chef and find out what went wrong.
Glad that you enjoyed everything else, and I hope you return again for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I and our three children ages 10,9,and six have just returned from a nights stay at the Castle & Ball . We had two rooms opposite each other ( perfect) . The rooms were immaculately clean and the facilities were excellent . The staff were very friendly , helpful and attentive . The breakfast was very good with a vast amount of choice even for my fussy 6 year old. I cant recommend highly enough and will most definitely stay again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flakey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Great to hear you all enjoyed your stay, hope that the kids had fun too,. There is a lot to do in the area for kids so I'm sure they didn't get bored.
We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
6.6 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 32 in Marlborough
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#15 of 32 in Marlborough
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Marlborough
93 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dorwyn Manor B&B
Dorwyn Manor B&B
#1 of 6 in Avebury
59 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle & Ball Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle & Ball Hotel

Property: The Castle & Ball Hotel
Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle & Ball Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished early 2012 and situated on Britain’s widest high street, The Castle & Ball has had a fascinating past dating back to the 15th century, with some of the original oak timbers pre-dating the Spanish Armada. The building’s age accounts for some individual features including the splitlevel brasserie-style restaurant. The hotel’s walled Beer Garden at the rear provides a relaxing setting for those looking to enjoy a drink and a meal alfresco-style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle & Ball Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle And Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel Marlborough, Wiltshire
Castle Ball Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing