We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Melksham B&B and Inns
Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

While the staff are very friendly this place shouldn't be running as a hotel, it's much more like a hostel and a bad one at that! It's a lovely old pub and they should stick to that. The rooms are in very bad need of renovation so if you can choose an alternative do, don't waste your money here :-(

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie-Tipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    67
    18
    19
    11
See reviews for
50
87
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We arrived at the Kings Arms Hotel on Saturday 04 May having previously booked two rooms. We were greeted by a young man, who, with a deadpan expression, told us "I dont have your booking and I have no rooms". It was like a Fawlty Tower farce, we stood dumbfounded, expecting this to be an in house joke. Clearly not, but no change of expression, no apology!. We explained that we had travelled to attend a charity ball and had expected to eat on the
premises and that time was of the essence. The young man referred us to a B&B locally but insisted we pay him the £70 per room there & then. When we arrived at the B&B it was evident that this was more of a hostel, the chap there was much friendlier, but the B&B was a dive & there was no question of it costing £70 per room. Obviously oblivious to the little scam the Kings Arms have going, when I enquired, the chap told me his rooms were £58. Incidentally the phone went and the Kings Arms were trying to send four more quests to the B&B. The chap told me all referrals from the Kings paid at the Kings and they would then pay him.
The next morning we returned to the Kings Arms, needless to say the only person available was a young boy, he could not get the money, they had stolen from us, out of the till quick enough! I strongly advise you not to book a room at the Kings Hotel!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here as an overnight stop, the place is located in a lovely village, close to Longleat, Bath, Stonehenge etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. Unfortunately the room was, though clean, was a little shabby. Walls in desperate need of fresh paint and bathroom needs a new sink. With a little TLC this hotel could be a fab place to stay for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryeyedsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We went in a group and several of our party travelled from kent and stayed here. they had some issues with the water in the sink in one of the rooms and they are decorated quite poorly for the price you pay.

they were pretty fussy people though and i found it to be acceptable.

the food and beer was good and so was the service, if you want pub grub and a beer this is as good as any in melksham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyRalph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

First the good points. Pleasant pub in a pleasant village. Good food and beer(Wadworth House)
Polite, Friendly and efficient staff. Good Car Parking facilities. Excellent Bar with lots of atmosphere. Good sized Room, well furnished with proper furniture in a traditional style.First class full English Breakfast (or variations of it) served.

Secondly, the not so good points. The small bathroom en-suite was dirty with black mould growing on the tile grouting in several places. The room had an unpleasant drain smell and was in serious need of some TLC. The paint was chipped and peeling on the walls, the ceiling was dingy and yellow and the white woodwork was showing its age. All this could have been forgiven as after all we only booked in for one night, but for the fact that there was no hot water for a shower in the morning. We left after breakfast, unshaven and dirty. The bill was reduced in view of this, but that really wasn't the point.

Room Tip: Check with the manager that the room issues have been addressed or book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The pub itself is nice; tastefully decorated with a good atmosphere, and the food being served to the rest of our party when we arrived last Saturday afternoon looked, and by all accounts tasted, good. The bedrooms however are terrible; unclean, smelling of smoke, peeling paint, mouldy grouting in the bathrooms etc etc. They looked like they hadn't been decorated or received any TLC for several decades. The real shame is that the rooms have potential to be nice given a lick of paint and a bit of care, but due to lack of funds or laziness - they aren't and as such are on a spiral of decline. The breakfast served the next morning though was very nice however. B&B rate for our room based on a couple sharing was £60 - which for the quality of the accomodation was a bad joke.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

More of a pub than a Hotel.
Recently stayed 2 nights Thursday and friday.Room 1
Squeeking air vent, mould and damp patches and cover missing off the light in the shower room.
The room itself was comfortable, bed was comfy but had to put 2 cushions between the loose headboard to stop it banging against the wall each time you turn over. very noisey above room1
sounded like someone moving furniture at midnight.
To be fair this is an old building deffinately not 4* quality, the manager says he has only been there 1 year and assures me he knows of the problems and it is going to be revamped in the near future, this can be a very nice place if it was given lots of tlc.
All the staff members were fantastic specially rob, he checked us in and seemed to be there all day he was very friendly i got my extra pillow but unfortunately they did not have any Decaf Tea.
Perhaps the manager can think about this one as lots of people these days drink decaf Tea not just decaf coffee, also consider semi skimmed milk, some people can't have full cream milk. Breakfast was good, my husband said shame we didn't get a choice of grilled rather than fried, i skipped the full breakfast but had to provide my own drink as i was allergic to orange juice and no decaf tea supplied.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Anita Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melksham
1.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 20 Market Place, Melksham SN12 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing