We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class at second class prices”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #2 of 15 Melksham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed in The Kings Arms last Friday evening and it was a sheer delight. Very comfortable and ultra clean room, excellent dinner out of the top drawer and the very personable young lady who not only was the waitress in the evening, was also there the next morning to serve us with a delightful breakfast cooked exactly as we ordered. Make no mistake if this is the standard and only time will tell, this hotel (and the staff) is a real gem. We made a point of thanking the chef for what was a dinner to remember and he took the trouble of writing out a recipe for one of the ingredients that we had so enjoyed. Fabulous value for money. We can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Visited the Kings Arms for lunch with family where your choice is very limited (if you don't want curry or coffee) for good food.

It was dead but the bar maid was very friendly and ensured we had a high chair for a little one in our group in next to no time. Good selection of Wadworths beers and all the usual soft drinks.

We all went for sandwiches or the burger and could not fault the food. Probably better than anything else available on Melksham high street that time of day.

Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed over after a friends lunchtime birthday party. Comfortable room with everything provided including bottled water. Excellent bathroom.
Good selection of food in the bar in the evening and an excellent 'cooked to order' breakfast next morning. Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms over the bar a little noisy early evening, but did not spoil the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purrdy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We found the hotel perfect. The room was spacious and well equipped. Unlike some chain hotels thought had been given to us ladies and there was a generous dressing table for 'making up' and drying/styling hair. It appears the rooms have been recently refurbished and it shows. Very comfortable, despite being at the front very little road noise, possibly due to good soundproofing. All the staff we met were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent three course meal in the restaurant . Truly spoilt for choice by the menu we will definitely return and would recommend this to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having recently moved to Melksham we were delighted that we discovered the Kings Arms. Situated in the historic Market Square, the bar offers a panoramic view of the square. So whilst inside you feel very much at the heart of the town. As soon as you enter the bar you are greeted by warm smiling staff, either working behind the bar or waiting on tables. All the staff are incredibly helpful and can't do enough to make you feel at home!
There is a wide choice of beers, wines and spirits, and the food being conveyed to the tables always looks well presented and appetizing.
Having spent many years working across the UK, and visiting numerous bars and hotels, I feel well equipped to judge how this bar rates. It is without doubt one of the best I have experienced. There is a wide variety of events that take place, including cabaret nights in the function room, weekly quiz's, and in the summer, musical events in the courtyard!
The person who makes the whole thing 'tick' is Steve, the manager, he is constantly monitoring everything that is going on, without making it obvious. He is also very adept at bringing people together, so that we already know a lot of people, and look forward to going there each week. It has made moving to Wiltshire the best decision we have made!! He is also one of the friendliest hosts that we have ever met! You will not be disappointed if you visit the Kings Arms Hotel in Melksham.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here whilst attending a business function.

Service when we arrived was VG and it only got better through the period of our stay. Having read previous reviews it indicated that the management had changed as service was better.

Good off road parking available to the rear of the venue.

Evening food was very good, ample servings.

Room, was very nice and clean. No noise from the main road.

Breakfast was ample.

I would recommend staying if you were passing through.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Artists4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The room we stayed in was OK with all the things you would expect. We worried that as our room faced the main road by the road about we would be kept awake. We wasn't slept great.
Breakfast was great only spoilt by the very salty Mushroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melksham hotels
0.2 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
744 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Whaddon Grove House
Whaddon Grove House
#3 of 15 in Melksham
142 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitley
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 20 Market Place, Melksham SN12 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing