We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to people watch”
Review of The Barge Inn

The Barge Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Melksham
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great place to people watch”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

With the pub sitting along the Canal this is a most picturesque setting you could hope for. The menu is printed daily on a sheet of A4 paper and by the end of the day is well worn. The food is of good quality but at the expensive end of what pubs charge for what you get. The pub is very busy but they seem to cope well. As with other reviewers I agree, for the money they charge, you still have to get your own knife and fork as well as hunting down some pepper and salt( I had to go around the whole pub before i got them) not something you would expect for the prices you pay. We had one gripe and that was there were four of us and we got our food 30 mins after our friends got theirs, they did apologize but did not offer a free drink or anything. That said if you don't mind paying a few pounds over the top ( fish& chips £12.95) then enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omega132857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    195
    92
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Mixed”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Myself and a couple of friends popped along to the barge for a couple of drinks and snacks. We sat outside and it was lovely seeing the boats going past, however we ordered a couple of starters from the main menu and a couple from the fish menu (a special menu for the week) and when they arrived they were Luke warm and the prawn were mushy inside their shells which made peeling them a nightmare. I'd like to give it another go for food but we'll see. On a positive note the drinks are reasonably priced and they have stowford on tap which is a huge plus in my books!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielleSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service; excellent food; beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This pub is a must if you are travelling along the Kennet & Avon canal! Easy to moor up, delicious food, & idyllic surroundings. Spent a lovely evening sitting next to the river, followed by a peaceful night. Very picturesque and possibly the best fish pie I have ever tasted. Apparently the sausages were excellent too. Would definitely highly recommend, and would visit again if ever I get the opportunity!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joobasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice little spot for lunch”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice to sit next to the canal watching the world go by, a few drinks and some nice food and worth a little extra cost for a great destination .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Narrow boat lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited whilst returning to our base at Hilperton on a Saturday. We decided to moor up for lunch and whilst the Barge looked busy things went well at the bar and later for food. Whilst the food is very good it is at the more pricey end of the pub food spectrum. Five of us had the fish of the day with chips and crushed minted peas which appeared very quickly after ordering. This was delicious but at nearly £12 per person it certainly should be.As mentioned the inn was very busy so the quick service was an unexpected bonus. A good quantity of outdoor seating make it ideal for families or groups.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexBoy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barge Inn also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Pewsey, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing