We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It certainly lives up to the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whaddon Grove House
Ranked #3 of 15 Melksham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights and received a warm welcome from the owners Paul and Lorraine. We stayed in the large room with the outside jacuzzi the room and facilities were of excellent quality the owners have obviously put a lot of effort into ensuring that their guests have an enjoyable stay. The house which is surrounded by fields was a good base to use for us to visit local attractions such as Lacock , Castle Combe and Bath. Breakfast was great. The house and facilities together with attention to detail by the owners was a joy, this has got to be in the top two B & B's we have stayed in in the UK. We will return

Room Tip: Organise your trip to get room number 1 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

Wow, what a fantastic night stay. Thank you so much to Paul and Lorraine. The accommodation was amazingly clean, comfortable and relaxing. The King-size room with a Jacuzzi was fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks again. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room will be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthSteve26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were going to an evening wedding do and wanted something close by. Getting to the B&B through a housing estate and down a lane through some fields, we wondered what we had let ourselves in for. The house is surrounded by fields and is in a lovely situation. We were in a twin room with massaging bed which was spotless and a good size en suite with twin headed shower and plenty of hot water. One of the rooms had a hot tub and spa bath and there was also a pool outside for use by the guests. The breakfast was excellent with decent coffee and the hosts couldn't do enough for us. All in all we thought this was probably one of the best b&b's that we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskymacSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in the double jacuzzi room. The hotel was really easy to find and the location really is beautiful and peaceful.The owners Paul and Lorraine are so friendly and welcoming. You can choose what time you want breakfast, and the breakfast itself was really nice cooked breakfast aswell as a choice of cereals and fruit.
The room itself was really nice and clean and the bath tub was massive! We enjoyed our stay here and would definately go back and recommend it to others.
The hotels location is not far from other locations like Bath, cheddar gorge, Weston Super Mare and Bristol and it is next to the motorway which helps. You would need to drive a car to get around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizzbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This place is amazing. my fiance and i stayed in the jacuzzi room and was a blissful stay! the location and surrounding area is beautiful, extremly quiet with incredible views. the couple that own this place are lovely made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we stepped on the driveway... as did their adorable dogs! (which my fiance and i wanted to take with us) it was clean, VERY comfortable and had everything we coiuld have wanted. breakfast in t he morning was very yummy! didnt want to leave. we will be bookin g again to go back! recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graduate9756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The cleanest B and B ever? Totally luxurious space - huge bed, huge sparkling bathroom - such a wonderful and welcome relaxation away from chaos! Beautiful peaceful location, lovely views. Polite and welcoming owners, helpful when we asked for something and left us alone to our own space the rest of the time. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huncherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed here for a leisure break after seeing a advert in a well known womens magazine and to say we were impressed is an understatement.

We were first greeted by resident dogs Stella and Alfie who bless them were so friendly and cute. We were then checked in Lorraine who is really lovely and friendly. She showed us to our room which was the jacuzzi room (room 2). We were shocked at just how high the standard of the room was.Its decorated in tastefull modern colours and is spotlessly clean. The first thing you notice is the huge 50 inch wall mounted tv and huge bed. We were then shown the beautifull bathroom with massive jacuzzi bath and huge double shower, WOW!!!!! We both said that this is exactly how we would like our house to be if we had the money, its just stunning. When looking out of the bedroom window there is a stunning view of the countryside and the donkey who also lives on site.
The rest of the house is also lovely, very modern yet with a homey feel. We both felt really relaxed and comfortable coming and going.
That evening we wanted to eat out and Lorraine and Paul recomended the Kings arms in town and gave us the number of a recomended cab company "Carols Cabs" (her card is in your room pack). The cab arrived spot on time and drove us to the pub and refused to take payment there and then as she said she would collect us later so we can pay then. We had lovely evening and the food was fantastic , huge portions and reasonable price.We called Carol and she was with us within 5 minutes.The charge was only £12 return and we can thoroughly recomend booking with her,
The following morning we went down to breakfast and were greeted by Lorraine and Paul who showed us through to the lovely breakfast room which has fantastic views over the fields. We both had the full english which was just gorgeous, especially the sausages which are locally produced.
We wanted to go to Bath but had no idea of where to park etc and Paul was very helpfull and we got there easily so thankyou very much!!
All in all we had a fantastic stay, to be honest we dont normally stay in b&b's but we are so glad we stayed here, i would rate it better than most of the supposed 4 and 5 star hotels i have stayed in. The attention to detail is brilliant, they have thought of all the little things you may want in your room like wine glasses,cork screw,, nice tea, coffee and biscuits and little sweeties. The bathrooms have high quality fittings and nice soft fluffy towels which makes all the difference.The jacuzzi is amazing with all the lights and is a lovely way to relax after a busy day.
Thank you you so much for a fab stay Lorraine and Paul we will booking again!!!

Room Tip: book the Jacuzzi room its fab!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melksham hotels
2.2 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 5 in Melksham
56 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#2 of 15 in Melksham
272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitley
170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaddon Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaddon Grove House

Address: Whaddon Grove House Berryfield Lane, Melksham SN12 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range: £80 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaddon Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whaddon Grove House is a large country house set in the middle of a thirty acre field and has a very pleasant view down to the river and the old packhorse bridge, it has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. It has two large double rooms, both en-suite, one has a large balcony, the other a large jacuzzi bath. one twin room with en-suite, and the other twin room has its own private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whaddon Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaddon Grove House Hotel Melksham
Whaddon Grove House Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing