We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carlsberg did BnBs.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whaddon Grove House
Ranked #3 of 14 Melksham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did BnBs.........”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Having booked a room for the Bank Holiday weekend, I thought the price was a little expensive for a BnB. It was only on the way that I read the booking form and found that it said we had booked a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony! Now that was a price worth paying.

I programmed the sat nav and headed off. Wow!....was our first impression. The house is gorgeous and the grounds are stunning-set to the back-drop of a 30 acre farm. Nice lounging area with an outdoor pool, sauna etc. and despite that you drive through an estate area to get there, there is absolutely no neighbours within view.

However, it was the room that blew us away. Our own private jacuzzi on the balcony; 50in flat-screen television; spa-bath; tropical rain shower; and a huge, comfortable bed! I could not find any fault with the property or the room. We spent a most relaxing evening in the jacuzzi looking across the fields as the rain poured down. I can only imagine how amazing it is in the sunshine! Breakfast was fantastic, also.

Located just 12 miles from the magnificent and historic city of Bath. Thanks to Paul who suggested that we visit Lecock on our way to Bath and this is a must see for anybody in the area (esp any Harry Potter fans) as it is only 4 miles away. I wholeheartedly recommend this BnB for anybody visiting Bath and would have no hesitation in returning. In fact, we can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: Book early as this gets booked out very fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    13
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
85
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Myself, my wife and two teenage children have just come back from a couple of nights staying in the new family suite that Paul and Lorraine have just commissioned, and cannot praise the experience highly enough.
The accommodation (a huge double and spacious twin, both with own bathrooms, and a lounge) was comfortable and spotless; the welcome from the owners genuine and friendly; and the breakfast one of the best.
Go there and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Ring Paul to ensure you get most appropriate rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Firstly, this is a B&B - not a Hotel! As some folks on here seem to think. It is however an excellent Bed and Breakfast. The room we stayed in was the double room with the balcony and the hot tub. The hot tub was fantastic, lying watching the night sky with a glass of champers was pure luxury. The bed was massive! The TV in the room was 50 inch! The room was an excellent size. Paul and Lorraine were very pleasant and helpful (Paul offered to chill our champers and showed us how things worked). They also have an 'honesty box' where you can leave £7.50 for a chilled bottle of wine. The breakfast room was nice and the breakfast great. There was also an outside pool and a separate communial hot tub, although we did not get chance to use these. We were originally looking for somewhere to stay for a visit to Bath, and found this B&B, which was a real result! The location is quite isolated, but lovely. You are about 2 miles away from Melksham, which to be honest was a little disappointing as a placeto us. There are some good eating places though within 5 miles or so, and it is a good base for Bath, Longleat and Cheddar Gorge, which is what we wanted. Basically, if you want an outstanding bed and breakfast that is exceptionally clean, with nice size rooms, with some great special touches, at a good price in a nice tranquil location, then this is the place for you. We liked it that much, we have booked to stay again in August, not much a better recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottinghamaquaman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Room was very small with twin beds, only one bed side table and lamp. No chair to sit on and the single wardrobe which could not be opened fully as the bed was in the way. The location when you find it was nice but it was so far away from anything that you have to drive 5 miles at least to find an ok place to eat. The welcome was not sincere and the breakfast did not offer much choice and we were left alone with no interaction from the owners who seemed stressed when we did see them. They only seemed to ask us about our stay as we were checking out and all smiles then. .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyann-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stumbled upon Whaddon Grove House by accident searching on the net after trying to find somewhere to stay in Bath and how glad we did. This B & B is pure luxury with the most welcoming and helpful hosts Paul & Lorraine.We had room 1 with the hot tub on the balcony. The Queen size bed was really comfortable followed by a delicious home cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights and received a warm welcome from the owners Paul and Lorraine. We stayed in the large room with the outside jacuzzi the room and facilities were of excellent quality the owners have obviously put a lot of effort into ensuring that their guests have an enjoyable stay. The house which is surrounded by fields was a good base to use for us to visit local attractions such as Lacock , Castle Combe and Bath. Breakfast was great. The house and facilities together with attention to detail by the owners was a joy, this has got to be in the top two B & B's we have stayed in in the UK. We will return

Room Tip: Organise your trip to get room number 1 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Wow, what a fantastic night stay. Thank you so much to Paul and Lorraine. The accommodation was amazingly clean, comfortable and relaxing. The King-size room with a Jacuzzi was fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks again. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room will be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSteve26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melksham
2.6 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
4.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaddon Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaddon Grove House

Property: Whaddon Grove House
Address: Whaddon Grove House Berryfield Lane, Melksham SN12 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaddon Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whaddon Grove House is a large country house set in the middle of a thirty acre field and has a very pleasant view down to the river and the old packhorse bridge, it has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. It has two large double rooms, both en-suite, one has a large balcony, the other a large jacuzzi bath. one twin room with en-suite, and the other twin room has its own private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whaddon Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaddon Grove House Hotel Melksham
Whaddon Grove House Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing