We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame you can't give more than five stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whaddon Grove House
Ranked #3 of 14 Melksham B&B and Inns
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shame you can't give more than five stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is hotel is just simply the best hotel / b &b we've ever stayed in, from the moment you arrive and you are met by Paul, everything is top quality, fixtures and fittings are stunning in all rooms, we have stayed in both of the big rooms, including the one with the hot tub on the balcony, and they were both fantastic.
Tis was our second trip to the Whaddon grove, and I am writing this from the room, using the free wifi provided!
I cannot rate this accommodation highly enough and would definitely stay again, and recommend to anyone coming to this area to stay here!

All in all a fantastic hotel, fantastic owners, fantastic setting and a fantastic nights sleep!

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the hot tub on the balcony that is the best, although the one with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richoatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    13
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
85
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for one night in April, and are glad we arrived in daylight as finding it could prove a little tricky. We had called ahead and Paul had given us some detailed directions but even so, had it been dark we may still be looking!

Room 1 had a super king size bed, Jacuzzi bath, walk in shower, 50 inch TV, seating area and hot tub on the balcony. The room was spotlessly clean, everything was modern and in good condition. The room was large, warm and had fantastic views.

Paul and Lorraine make for great hosts and genuinely seem to be enjoying opening their house to guests. At their suggestion we ate at the Lamb on the Strand a few miles away which was fantastic and highly recommended. There are other restaurant menus in the room and Paul knows of a local mini-cab firm that are reasonable.

The room is directly over the breakfast room and this could prove annoying if you wanted a lie in. However, even here they are considerate; on the night we stayed there was a large group that had booked in and they split them into two separate areas for breakfast to try and prevent us being disturbed. There is another large king room which we got shown around before we left. The room is a little smaller than room 1 but not so you would notice and the bathroom is to die for! The biggest Jacuzzi bath I have ever seen. Even though I loved the hot tub and balcony I think I would book this room for a return visit.

A lovely night away from the kids and if in the area we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WearyMummy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here in July 2011. We stayed in the room with the jacuzzi on the balcony, Everything in the room was of a luxurious quality. It wasn't the cheapest, but for paying twice as much as a 'regular' hotel, you get 10 times the quality and comfort and all in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Paul and Lorraine were lovely, very welcoming and helpful but also left you to your own devices.
Breakfast was very nice.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
If I look hard for a negative then it would be that there isn't a pub close by for an evening meal and a drink.

Room Tip: Get the room with the hot tub on the balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This modern farmhouse style accomodation has been split into self contained hotel rooms / apartments with a shared kitchen area. On the night I stayed I was the only guest so had the run of the place which was great, but would imagine that things would get a little more conservative when fully occupied. They don't do evening meals (might be wrong about that .... maybe if you book in advance?) but will cook a breakfast at a the allotted time .... I had to leave early so missed the cooked offerings but they did do me a great grab 'n' go breakfast with fresh milk etc the night before so it was ready when I departed. As other readers have pointed out, finding this place can be a challenge - it is a single track lane over half a mile long in the middle of nowehere, accessed at the far end of a little housing estate. Peace and quiet are guaranteed and if you are a star gazer there won't be any street lamps to spoil your nocturnal viewings. One word of warning though .... if the weather should forecast snow and you're not in a four wheel drive vehicle or snow plough, then I'd forget it!! On a serious note, if you arrive in darkness then you'll be looking for some fairly obscure road signs to find the entrance to the single lane track. Worth it when you get there though!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocknroller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My partner and I stayed in for one night and just wish we had stayed for longer...We welcomed by the two lovely dogs at the end of the path and they showed us the way!that was such a lovely welcome,really made us smile.The scenery was amazing,the building was beautiful and the welcome was really warm and friendly.The room was spotless and really comfy...we stayed here after a day of shopping in bath and we went to the spa in bath the next day.We drove to Trowbridge for dinner at the Kings head and food was yummy! Breakfast was so good aswell! I honestly would recommend this to other people.We will WILL be returning.Thank you Paul and Lorraine!(and Stella and Alfie!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is probably the best ever find. We only stayed for one night in the room with jacuzzi bath and it was just incredible. Paul and Lorraine are really friendly and welcoming and just let you get on with enjoying your stay. There are lots of little details in the room to welcome you and the jacuzzi bath is much bigger than it looks in the photo! We made use of the hot tub and that was probably one of the best experiences ever, sipping champagne under the stars enjoying the cool December air from the heat of the tub. We will definitely be returning, it was so special. The only downside of recommending it to everyone is that everyone will now want to go there!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We wanted a weekend away to explore the area and visit the christmas market at Bath. All the hotels inm Bath were full so I had to look wider afield and I am so glad I did.

If you havnt been here before, one piece of advice. Make sure you plan the route or at least the last 5 minutes of the drive.
You have to drive through a housing estate and at the edge of the estate is an opening in the hedge to a single track driveway which leads up to the house. My sat nav directed me to just before the hole and the lane wasnt showing on the sat nav map so directions on their website wouldnt go amiss.

Once there though, you will be glad you found it & you will be welcomed by two beautiful Golden Retreivers and then by the very friendly hosts.
We arrived an hour early but it was not a problem, in fact we probably spent an hour talking to Paul about the property and the dogs.

We were in the "annexe" which they originally refurbished to be used as a self cattering holiday cottage but they changed their minds so the annexe is now split into two bedrooms but with the added bonus of a lounge/kitchen which is shared by whoever is using these two rooms. The room has a tv, coffee maker and a fridge full of alcohol which you pay for by putting the money in an honesty box. (Fantastic touch and a reflection of the hosts nature).

Breakfast is also served here so you are seperate from the guests in the main house.
As another poster noted, yes there is only one choice of juice and two cereals prior to being served your cooked breakfast but I was happy with that and would trade it in for the good service we recieved compared to £150 a night in faceless hotels with 3 juices and 5 cereals to choose from!

The room next to ours was en-suite but ours had a seperate bathroom which was off putting when we booked the room (last one left) but it wasnt a problem to use as they even supplied bath towells to walk between the bedroom and bathroom which must be all of 5 steps.
Our room also had a large flat screen tv & facilites for making hot drinks if you didnt fancy something from the lounge bar.
The annexe is ideal if you need 2 rooms as you have the seperate lounge room to use also.

Overall this was a great palce to stay and we are already talking about returning in 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red-Mike-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melksham
1.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
6.0 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
7.6 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaddon Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaddon Grove House

Property: Whaddon Grove House
Address: Whaddon Grove House Berryfield Lane, Melksham SN12 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaddon Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whaddon Grove House is a large country house set in the middle of a thirty acre field and has a very pleasant view down to the river and the old packhorse bridge, it has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. It has two large double rooms, both en-suite, one has a large balcony, the other a large jacuzzi bath. one twin room with en-suite, and the other twin room has its own private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whaddon Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaddon Grove House Hotel Melksham
Whaddon Grove House Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing