We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very interesting place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Melksham B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very interesting place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I had a lovely visit this weekend, cordially greeted by Carlo and met his dear wife Barbara at breakfast, enchanting place to stay and a very warm, caring and friendly couple.The bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Peaceful, relaxing and a place to give yourself time to think.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatashame05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A nice, rustic b&b. The rooms aren't what you could call modern, but they are sensitive to the character of the old building and very airy and comfortable.

Breakfast was a full English and very tasty. The hosts were friendly and welcoming.

Convenient location fairly near the M4 and close to various Wiltshire attractions as well as Bath and Bristol.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Driving up to this grand estate, you feel like royalty. The views are spectatcular. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have all amenities, but are not luxury suites. Breakfast was fantastic--a full English breakfast cooked at our chosen time by our wonderful hosts, Carlo and Barbara--who own and live on premises. You can tell they take great pride in what they do. They are charming, polite, and help create a great experience.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are upstairs, which is definitely where you'll get a fabulous view. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a very cheering place - just remember that it's bed and breakfast in a grand house, and not a country house hotel (which is what the building looks like). Think the Her Majesty the Queen being served her breakfast cereal out of Tupperware containers because they buy in bulk and you'll get the idea. Not that the cereal here comes in Tupperware containers, obviously.

The owners, who also run the place, are lovely; the building and grounds are great - even grand; and the breakfast is excellent. For the money, you'd struggle to find a better b&b.

As a previous reviewer has said, the shower takes a while to warm up, but it DOES warm up and get hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a beautiful building, with stunning views, and depending on what you want will depend on whether you like it or not. The accommodation is fine, rooms I think are lovely, but do not expect a boutique hotel. I had a lovely room, with a little vase of flowers, fabulous view, enormous bedroom, with a TV and radio that was totally fine, bathroom is adequate, shower takes time to warm up this is a seriously large building and think the plumbing needs time but it does warm up, just do not expect power showers and all the add ons. There are towels, and soaps but take a hair dryer. The owners are lovely, welcoming, and cook a mean breakfast, and the costs are so reasonable. I have now stayed here twice and loved it. And if I need to be in the area again I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights for a seminar.
Accomodation was standard,but the house itself is incredible.Has a lot of history and I can see why it caters for weddings and functions.
Carlo and Barbara were very welcoming and the breakfast great.
Would suggest upgrading the rooms to have wifi and satellite tv.
Wifi is available in the public areas.
Very quiet at night and convenient place to stay for exploring the surrounding area.

Room Tip: get a room on the lower floor overlooking the entry banqueting hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwilliamson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a truly stunning building, I felt very humble entering the hall. I had a very warm welcome and help with my case going to my room. I was the only guest on this occasion, but they are normally exceptionally busy with all different types of functions. I can see why this would be ideal for weddings as the surroundings and ambience just lend themselves to special occasions. My room was absolutely fine with a very comfortable bed and all normal amenities. I was attending an evening function elsewhere, so had to tick a sheet of paper to say I had returned so they could lock up. Breakfast was cooked whilst I sat chatting with the owner/chef, and was delicious. I would very happily stay again as it was so nice to not be in the standard hotel room that looks the same from town to town. And all very reasonable too. Well worth staying in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melksham hotels
3.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 14 in Melksham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whaddon Grove House
Whaddon Grove House
#3 of 14 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Trowbridge Road | Seend, Melksham SN12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleeve House is an 19th century country manor set in glorious countryside. It has eight B&B bedrooms, most with fantastic views across a valley. Four rooms currently with en suite bathrooms. We have double, single, twin and family rooms available - all with tea making and internet facilities. Our prices all include a full English breakfast served in the Tea Room. With high ceilings, oak beams, and quirky carvings around every corner, Cleeve House offers you an enjoyable stay in a place you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleeve House Bed & Breakfast Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing