We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Melksham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.wadworth.co.uk/melksham/kings_arms_hotel/index.html
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had visited the kings arms today to have lunch with my wife and it was divine. As a chef myself I'm constantly looking at other peoples food to spot any mistakes or if things could be just a little better and today i could not find anything wrong, quite the opposite. The kings arms stands alone in Melksham for its outstanding quality of both it's menu and food. The service was efficient and friendly our waitress Yvonne was a ray of sunshine and the landlord himself was a very pleasant chap. Busy lunchtime was handled very well and the food came out in perfect time. Best food for miles!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jhs1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

varied menu, medium price, I had a very tasty well presented meal, pan friend mackerel/roasted beets and rhubarb and horseradish mash, very nice indeed. Nice friendly staff

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pat186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had booked here for a family Christmas meal on Boxing Day. The service was awful but I blame the management......there were just two young girls having to cope with waiting at tables ( albeit there weren't many in) and serving at the bar. The kitchen must have been slow too as we waited ages for food. So much so that even though we had wanted a relaxing family celebration meal....we opted not to stay for dessert as we really couldn't wait for desserts which would take a long time. It really did spoil our family meal. Pity as when the food came it was nice ( other than the roast potatoes which none of us could cut!) . We even had to ask for the Christmas menu and if we could have a few crackers to make it more festive........clearly the message that we were booking for a festive meal hadn't got through !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramaqueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“After initial mix-up..”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Booked the Kings Arms for Christmas Eve lunch, we were shown to a table in the pub, but were moved to restaurant as this was the table we had requested. We waited for our pre-booked food, but a waitress came out and confessed to losing our order. We were trying to remember what we had ordered when the Manger came along with apologies and a bottle of prosecco, they had found our order. food was good, we were the only people in restaurant so atmosphere was lacking.
Food and service was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good, not great”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we visited the kings ams recently for food, we were greeted by a young girl, who was extremely pleasant and helpful. our waitresss tash, however was not as well informed, gave rather poor customer service and not particuarly proffessional.
overall food was very tasty, prices reasonable, possible just to look at increasing product knowlodge and customer service of younger staff?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Arms Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing