We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub grub!”

Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Melksham
Price range: US$3 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

In the last few years I have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and each time the standard has been very different, depending on the current landlords. It has changed hands a few occasions.

I have to say that currently this pub restaurant is in very good hands! We went for Sunday roast and I personally think its the best value and tastiest roast in the area! 2 Courses for £11.95, 3 for £13.95 is nothing short of a bargain and it is yummy!

One of the best things about this place is its gorgeous beer garden! I would higher recommend arriving early or staying a bit later to have a drink in the garden if the weather is nice.

TOP TIP- I have not personally tried them but my in-laws informed me that the pies here are to die for!

Im hoping the current landlords are here to stay as this gorgeous restaurant is back on track!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    36
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Party of 10 we pre-odered food, it arrived with prompt service and all food piping hot excellent value for money.Will recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltshirefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
385 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable "seniors special"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed the good value 2 course menu for senior citizens, offered at lunch time (not weekends). Our choice was the Thai fishcake, served with potatoes and salad with a very good chocolate and raspberry tart for desert.
The a la carte menu looks interesting, with a good variety of dishes.
I particularly liked the St Austell beer, which I had never tried before.
The staff were very efficient and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! One of the best starters and meals iv'e ever eaten!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Whilst on the way home from Longleat Zoo in Warminister we noticed that there was a small village called Shaw not too far away, being that Shaw is our surname we decided to visit the village about 20 mins away. After arriving we took a photo with the welcome sign, and then noticed the pub 'The Golden Fleece' and as we were all quite peckish we decided to head in for something to eat. Little did we know this was to be one of the best restaurants we had ever eaten in.

After arriving we asked if there was any free tables of which the owner said not at the moment and that her husband was cooking all of the food, my dad replied "is it worth the wait?" of which she said "Yes". That was good enough for us and we only ended up waiting 10 mins.

Once we had perused the menu, i decided to go with the deep friend cod goujons as a starter and the rest of the party decided to have smoked haddock and spring onion fishcakes and the pate. The taste was something divine, the goujons were extremely fresh, hot crispy batter and flakey fish accompanied by a lovely salad. The fish cake was the best starter i have ever tried, utterly brilliant. it melted in your mouth and tasted unbelievable. my dad who was eating the pate said it tasted really good and it looked really good too. One of the best if not the best starters i have ever eaten.

After finishing our starters we chose our mains, i had the lasagne, and the rest of my party had the baked fillet salmon and the Aberdeen Angus Burger. After only one bite i could tell by our faces that this was supreme food. In regards to the lasagne it was pure melt in your mouth, quality beef used in a rich meaty sauce and topped with a cheese that actually had real flavour. simply put the best lasagne iv'e ever eaten and one of the best meals of all time. My dad who was eating the burger said that you can literally taste the quality and that you could tell care had been taken in selecting the ingredients and cooking process, it looked delicious. My mom who was eating the other baked salmon dish said that it was unusually brilliant. Because it came with a mango sauce its easy to be sceptical but do not be put off it was amazing she said.

Following this we were too full for a pudding, to the point where we went for a walk through the village of Shaw to walk some of it off before heading back to Birmingham. Overall we all agreed this was one of the best meals we had ever eaten and that we could not recommend it more!!!

So if your passing by here or anywhere in Wiltshire, its a MUST TRY!!!!. Highly rated, very good prices and friendly staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spudgunjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were in this area for a couple of days and had read the reviews for the Golden Fleece. We didn't want to travel too far so decided to give it a try. Very friendly service, the waitresses were lovely. Meal arrived in good time and was absolutely delicious. Very good value for money. We loved it so much we returned the next day. We would recommend this to everyone. I only wish we lived nearer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing