We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village Pub still keeping it's standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant

Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Melksham
Price range: US$2 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Village Pub still keeping it's standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Since last review we have visited for meals on numerous occasions. It never fails to please. The photo needs to be updated to show the amazing floral frontage. Large hanging baskets with an abundance of flowers. Sometimes it can be a little slow to get your meal but hey ho it's fresh, hot and worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    34
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A lovely display of flower baskets welcomed us as we arrived - I said to my husband and our friends "if the food is as good as the flower baskets we are in for a good meal" we weren't disappointed - the food was excellent, the service friendly, comfy seats - what more could you want. We were also impressed with the prices, excellent value for money - still get a starter for under £5, well done to the Golden Fleece, we will certainly be paying another visit.
Annie H

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food if you are not vegetarian.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We found the meat choice for Sunday lunch good, but the vegetarian option was very predictable and disappointing. As I didn't fancy the broccoli bake, I opted instead for the Thai Fish Cake starter and shared some of my mum's veg as she had been given plenty. The food took an awfully long time to arrive. My fish cakes were ok but nothing special. However my mum's roast beef dinner was worth the wait and was the best she'd ever tasted. I also had some of the potatoes and veg and had to admit that they were the best I had tasted too. I was gutted not to have been able to have this with veggie sausages or a nut roast. I suggested this to the staff, but judging by the reaction don't hold out a lot of hope for this to happen. Service was fair, but long-winded.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onnecar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Meal with some business colleagues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

14 of us ate at the Golden Fleece following a business meeting on the golf course at Whitley Golf Club. The food was great everyone enjoyed the meal - well done and thankyou Golden Fleece

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingfield, Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Beautifully kept pub with masses of hanging baskets at the front, which were beautifully stocked.
Nice tidy pub with a friendly atmosphere and very pleasant staff.
Went here with a friend last night for a meal. They were very busy and immediately told us there would be a delay - no problem at all and well worth the wait.
We had drinks. Good real ale.
Both of us had main courses and desserts, which were excellent.
I would strongly recommend the steak and kidney pie, which was made with very tender meat and had lots of gravy.
The vegetables were cooked nicely and the carrots were nice and crisp.
Service was excellent. And the owner/chef was keen to make sure we had a good meal.
Will definitely come here again and recommend to friends.
It gets very busy according to a work colleague who lives in the village so booking is probably advisable, especially at a weekend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Broughton Gifford, Melksham
 

Been to Il Vello D'Oro is an Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing