We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had our wedding here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaw Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melksham
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We had our wedding here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

What a great welcome my family and I got from Emma at this hotel. The service was excellent, the food delightful and the beer reasonably priced. Everything went really well and it's all down to the staff. We decided on shaw when we ad a Sunday lunch here and we were impressed by the food so much we wanted our wedding there. Can't rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: Four poster bed in room 14 is very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    44
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
64
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A close friend was having her reception at this hotel and as we wre traveling from Manchester we traveled down on the Friday so we stayed for 2 nights.
We were greeted on arrival by Emma, she was very welcoming showed us to are room and explained about evening meals and breakfast ect. We chose to eat at the hotel and ate from the ressidents meal all I can say is we made the right option the food was outstanding!!!!! just as it was the following dayat the wedding!!! The chef even shared the receipe for the Baylies ice-cream, which I've managed to reproduce with great succes at home. The whole weekend was fantastic. The wedding had a real sence of a family occasion. Emma was very proffessional but came across as another family member.
This was a treasure of a hotel, with adiquet accomadation and run by a outstanding team.

Room Tip: We asked for a king-sized bed but in reallity the bed was more like a supper-king!!! we needed an A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmanchester10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have just returned home from a three night stay 15 Aug.The food was fantastic they made food for my girls that wasnt on the menu.The staff are very friendy nothings too much trouble, Emma made us feel really at home and made a real fuss of my girls shes great..Its a great base for Longleat and Bath Center.If you like fab food and choice and a great atmoshere this is the place to stay I would highly recommend a stay at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend 3/4 August 12. 4 adults in 3 dbl rooms. As previous posters have said, nothing is too much trouble for the staff & the food is suberb. Rooms were clean, beds were so comfortable, it was hard to get up in the mornings. The water pressure is so good that the showers were terrific.

we found the location ideal for us as it is central to all of the area's attractions.

If you prefer the sterility & impersonal service of chain hotels, this isn't the place for you. It's a 400yr old farmhouse so it's quirky but comfy & charming.

The highest compliment I can pay, is to say it felt like we were welcome friends, rather than hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I booked this at the last minute for work and boy was I not disappointed. This is a family run hotel with the family feel. Nothing was too much for the staff working there. The rooms were comfy and clean. The food is cooked by the two sons of the owners and they would not be out of place in a top notch London Hotel. The food was presented in such a way that it was a pity to actually eat it. I left the table completely satisfied but not 'stuffed' A nice feeling!! When I am next in the area and need to stay overnight, it will be the first hotel I check for vacancies. I would suggest anyone visiting the area give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just returned from a family wedding in Wiltshire, having stayed for 2 nights at the Shaw Country House Hotel. Though it may only have an official 2 star rating the service without question was 5 star. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure that we enjoyed our short break there and praise must be given to the staff, and especially Emma, for their friendly and courteous manner towards us. The food in this hotel was quite exceptional, both in quality and presentation, and wouldn't have been out of place if it had been served in a top city restaurant. Though the bedrooms were not large they were more than adequate, and certainly very clean and well maintained.
The Hotel nestles in it's own grounds with space to relax and unwind. Without doubt it would be our first choice of somewhere to stay if we visited that part of the country again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found this hotel to have pleasant staff on the phone in advance, a smiley welcome and cheery breakfast service. Bed was comfy, room fairly basic but you get what you pay for and it was by no means a disappointment - breakfast (full English) was excellent. The hotel's location is superb - lovely well kept grounds, plenty of parking and free WiFi. Stay again? Yes definitely.

Room Tip: Maybe if there was a room not at the top of the stairs it would minimise noise from other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melksham
2.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.2 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Country House Hotel

Property: Shaw Country House Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Melksham SN12 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melksham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shaw Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Shaw Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Country Hotel
Shaw Country House Hotel Melksham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing