We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I am shocked to read some of the negative reviews on here as my fiance and I were so impressed with our meal last night.

My fiancé had the mixed grill and chocolate fudge cake. I had prawns to start, duck with asparagus and strawberry shortcake for pudding. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, my partner said he had never tasted food like it, he was extremely impressed with the taste of the lamb and sausage in particular, and savoured every mouthful.

The duck was cooked to perfection, lovely and pink in the middle and the sauce it came with was delicious and complimented the dish really well.

The team were helpful and polite and we had one little niggle about the wrong thing being on the bill but the waitress dealt with this promptly and apologised.

I would thoroughly recommend this place and we will be returning with our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank snw714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Aweful, Aweful, Aweful. My husband & I attended a 70th party, in April this year. It was a re-union of ladies mostly who had grown up in Wootton Bassett, so very special. We all had a meal. Yes, the Angel has certainly changed from what we remembered when we used to go there years ago - very nicely done, but the meals were aweful. I had the curry (& was sick when I got home) & my husband had the dearest on the menu, the lamb. His meal was a joke & hardly enough to fill him up & his comments were 'its the worse meal he has ever had). I found out the next day that most of the people there were also disappointed with their meals!!! I waited til' the next day to complain (being as we were at a special di) & finally when I did get to the manager he told me to leave it with him & he would get back to me - WELL he never has!!! I could not recommend anyone to go there - not only is the food aweful & even though i repeatedly called, their customer relations is aweful too. I could not recommend the Angel to anyone who wants a meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 437jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Heard that the Angel has a great reputation, its now back in Arkell hands but seemed very good on all levels.

Loving looking establishment from the outside and a great blend of old and new inside.

Menu is varied in range, good presentation and quality matched with good service.

The prices are top end for lunch and seemed much the same for evening, but you cant fault anything so I would suggest it money well spent.

I will return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lostpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really sorry but Monday lunchtime meals were poor. Chose from the specials board which I thought would mean they were fresh. Meals of Salmon & Cod were ordered. Cod was described as average and my salmon was poor. The fish was dry and the whole dish was overcooked. It was no better than a boil in a bag meal and seemed like the chef had forgotten about it. Really poor and not fresh at all. Staff need to check what they are serving and be satisfied it is worthy of being presented. It cost £12.00 and was really not worth it. I didn't make a fuss as I was in company and did not want to upset my dining partner. I thought we would give the Angel a try as it has recently changed hands but sadly not for the better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We dropped in on spec for a quick lunch. A superb BLT and very nice smoked salmon sandwich were served up in a very friendly fashion..quite the little home from home. Very relaxing and refreshing - a quiet oasis between buses!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ReydeJamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great lunch. Good range of sandwiches. Ales etc. Very pleasant beer garden. Inside - lovely too. Staff friendly. Whilst only passing through on way home from week in Chippenham, we checked out other hostelries, briefly and found this hotel to be the most pleasant. Some were not even open.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KAMYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I was looking for somewhere to go for a local dinner and a few drinks with my mum and haven't eaten out in RWB for years. I had heard the Angel had undergone a massive renovation and had turned around its previous reputation over the last few years. I was so impressed with the food, such a variety of local and homemade produce, nice touch when you know your plate is made up from the greengrocers next door and local butchers. And as for the prices, I had heard that the steaks were expensive, but hand cut to order and charged by the oz I thought it was perfectly reasonable. I'd definitely recommend the ham hock terrine and rib eye steak.

Also give the homemade ice creams a try. I couldn't fit them in but have heard they are amazing!

As if that wasn't good enough there was a live band on afterwards which were great, so we stayed until home time!

I will definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Wootton Bassett
0.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
346 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
6.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 47 High Street, Royal Wootton Bassett SN4 7AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Royal Wootton Bassett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Wootton Bassett
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wootton Bassett, the Grade II listed Angel has been extensively but sympathetically renovated to create an eclectic hotel with a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Whatever your plans, whether it be a long stay to discover the ancient Ridgeway, a romantic weekend, a conference or a wedding reception, The Angel is the perfect location.A comfortable blend of old and new, you will find the atmosphere at The Angel relaxed, warm and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing