We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Spent from 7 pm having drinks and a meal.
10.10pm they called last orders. By 10.30 music was switched off and wanted to close.
Terrible service, dirty table and felt pushed out.It was a Friday night too.
Shall not be returning and not recommending to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n14ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    148
    104
    72
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We came to the Churchill last night (Friday evening). I really enjoy the ales they have on sale.

Staff friendly and food tasted good. The only downside was the kids play area was still full of children at 8pm, when you want to come out for a dinner you expect it to be quiet (ish) overally good experience, I will be coming back again,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used to be a good quality venue providing excellent food and family entertainment both simultaneously.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been a fairly loyal diner with my family and friends....but in the last few trips I have seen the food quality and presentation go down hill....to the point I wondered if the premises was in danger of going into administration with the pitiful quantity of food and lack of quality. This used to be an excellent venue with a great capacity that suited both families and general good quality eateries. ..The prices remain the same but the standard of food quality has took a down turn somewhat. When scanning the menu...There is a tendency to pick as a guessing game the meal that might fill u up the most! It is a delight if the burger you order needs both hands to hold it! I think the quality of good food and reasonable proportions needs to be reviewed as this used to be an eateries at the top of my list. The staff are friendly but service seems slow due to the lack of visa machines... Please sort out before the standards are completely lost...as this will be a sad day for families who once enjoyed this establishment..I want my old fabulous experience of this venue back....where I was constantly delighted and never felt disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thatcher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disappointed. Tonight it was quiet. I ordered the chicken burger and chips. Kids portion in size”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I ordered cheese to go inside and could count the grated bits. £8.99 ...mcdonalds next time. Service very slow. We had to call someone over. To pay the bill took about 20 min. Never again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sazza745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“a good meal at a nice price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Service was first class.
Food was good to just about OK.
Their was a party of three who went for my brother in laws 65th birthday meal.
Starters were fine. Main course - potatoes were not great on two meals and my meal was pretty tasteless but apart from that OK.
Desserts were OK but pastry was not that great on apple pie for one of them.
Drinks were very reasonably priced.
They provided plates for birthday cake and even joined in with singing...
Thanks for making a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buskerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing