We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B experience I've ever had”

Sherwood Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 New Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best B&B experience I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family and I (6 of us) stayed at the Sherwood for 7 nights, visiting family in the area. First of all, I must mention Sherill's friendly and caring nature, and attention to detail. She made our stay at her guest house a wonderful experience. She also gave us great recommendation on sites to visit and great restaurants to try.

The location is also ideal, as it is less than a block from the New Brighton train station at the end of the Wirral line. It was very easy to get to the places we wanted to visit. It is also situated a block from the Promenade, where there are many good quality restaurants.

I would highly recommend anyone looking for a place to stay in the Wirral to choose the Sherwood. I plan to return again the next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent 3 comfortable nights, very clean, homely, good breakfast and Sherrill the owner is very warm and friendly. The Sherwood is in an idel location for visiting my daughter and has many attraction within easy reach.
Would highly recommend this guest house and will be using again.

Graham Burgess

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were attending a wedding and wanted somewhere close to the venue, and found the sherwood. Having read the reviews we decided to book, and were so glad we did. The Room was very clean and had lovely comfy beds. Sherrill the owner made us feel very welcome. My husband was very impressed with the size of the breakfast! The Train station is just around the corner, very handy for trips to Chester or Liverpool. I would not hestitate to book here again, when visiting my family on the Wirral. Have stayed at the Travellodge on previous visits, but not anymore, its the Sherwood for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent breakfast. Sets you up for a day of sight seeing. Very good location close to sea front and beach and the railway station. Well laid out room and comfortable beds. Cheryl offered us and other guest some very helpful tips on things to see in the locality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricia_gilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked in to the Sherwood expecting just a normal B and B but how wrong could we have been, from the warm and friendly welcome from Cheryl the host, and the cleanest of rooms with lovely bedding, towels and furnishings, the room was spacious and light. The Breakfast was great and with lovely fresh fruit salad, and a fantastic cooked breakfast.
Forget the likes of the local Holiday Inn this runs rings round them both in service, value and not forgetting a lovely host who could not have been more helpful. we will be returning and could not recommend more highly

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaldersCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We suddenly decided on a weekend away, log on to Trip advisor decided on Liverpool, up comes Sherwood guest house in New Brighton, Wirral, the other side of the Mersey but closer than some of the city stays.
Wonderful stay, quite but 5 -10 mins walk to all of New Brighton's day and night life. Rooms are great, bed comfortable plus all the usual's. Breakfast was good sized and high standard.
We will be be going back again, Thanks to Sherrill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chimpanzee1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and i have just stayed at this guest house and cant praise it enough. The owner cheryl made us so welcome and was really friendly. the room was immaculate and had everything in it you required. The breakfast was lovely and cheryl chatted to us while serving. The guest house is an ideal location for everything, the sea front, shops, places to eat and also transport . I would tell anyone to try this guest house for themselves, i would not hesitate staying there again really nice experience. THANKS CHERYL FOR EVERYTHING.
Joan Mike Kiernan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brighton
0.8 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.3 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion Guest House
Albion Guest House
#2 of 5 in New Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunsandles Guest House
Dunsandles Guest House
#3 of 5 in New Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Brighton Hotel
The New Brighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Property: Sherwood Guest House
Address: 55 Wellington Road | Wirral, New Brighton CH45 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > New Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing