We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem”

Sherwood Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 New Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was taking my mum and Dad to Liverpool as their Christmas present, but as they are a little older- I did not think they would appreciate the 'bustle' of staying in Liverpool. I was looking for somewhere with an easy commute to the City. This couldn't have suited us better. The trains were regular, and with the special 'day ticket' for £4.00, we could also get off a stop early and catch the 'ferry cross the Mersey'. The B&B had lovely rooms- new refurnished. The owner was very friendly, and helpful. The breakfasts were lovely, and she amended it for me, as I am vegetarian. The local area was very friendly, and is a place on the up ... I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WOODFORD GREEN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

GrandNational w/e and Everton v Arsenal so hotels were fully booked or charging £200 a night!
2 nights here for just over half the cost !
Tastefully newly decorated room with perfect ensuite , tv , comfy bed, tea coffee facilities all new furniture and a huge breakfast to follow, nice filtered coffee too.
Would not hesitate to stay again , drive into Liverpool is 10 mins and a few pound in the tunnel.
Good traditional guest House with a bubbly friendly atmosphere , thanks for a pleasant stay !!

Room Tip: No need all look pretty good!and am sure if you wanted to swap and there was availability it would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOONERGONNAGETYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was a business resident at the Sherwood for a number of months whilst working in the Wirral and was absolutely delighted that the customer care was consistently excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast an absolute treat and the guest house is situated in a prime location in New Brighton. Sherrill, the owner, is a fantastic asset to the guest house and will ensure your stay meets every expectation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We couldn't fault a thing here, the room was very well decorated and spotless, with lovely fluffy towels. Breakfast was very good and included fruit, yogurt, and cooked breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return on your next visit to New Brighton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laylaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Could not fault this Bed & Breakfast and the owner. Cleanliness was second to none, hospitality the same and well, what can I say about breakfast, let's put it this way, me and my Husband did not need to have any lunch and even struggled with tea. Owner was so lovely and helpful and put themselves out to help me and my Husband find our way around the Wirral area and gave us valuable tips in relation to saving money on transport into and around Liverpool. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at and are already planning our next trip there later this year. Thanks very much for making our Anniversary week away a really special stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights: easy to book, easy to find, easy to park. Friendly welcome. Lovely host. Room very comfortable, welcoming and clean. Everything one could expect was available in the room. Breakfast was very good! Lovely fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, toast, tea/coffee all available and a good full English.

Short stroll to the local amenities and restaurants.

The downfalls were minor: a very few steps to the door. Could do with an additional stair rail. En-suite in the lovely room 1 was rather restricted for space, not much good for the over weight or those with mobility niggles.
Would definitely stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Well, this will just have to be a repeat of what so many have already written ! We had a lovely top-floor room with a view over the river; cosy, warm and spotlessly clean. The comfy beds guaranteed a perfect nights sleep. Sheryll's breakfasts are the best I've ever had in a B & B and really set us up for the day. We had to get up at silly o'clock on our fourth day to catch our flight back home. Sheryll left us a big bag of goodies in the room to eat on the plane- much appreciated.

Liverpool is a vibrant, exciting city, but it is lovely to escape back to the peace and quiet of New Brighton. The new Marine Point development has loads to offer, only a minutes walk from the B & B. We particularly enjoyed a couple of hours at the Grosvenor Casino. TIP : on Monday nights, at 23.30 they serve a free Chinese buffet - yummy !

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at the Sherwood and are already looking forward to our next stay !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank andy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brighton
0.8 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.3 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion Guest House
Albion Guest House
#3 of 5 in New Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunsandles Guest House
Dunsandles Guest House
#2 of 5 in New Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Brighton Hotel
The New Brighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Property: Sherwood Guest House
Address: 55 Wellington Road | Wirral, New Brighton CH45 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > New Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing