We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Cinema”
Review of The Light Cinema

The Light Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Light is an 8 screen cinema with state of the art digital picture and sound auditorium. This is not just a cinema, but a social hub for locals and visitors. Upon entering The Light you will be welcomed into a spacious café bar where you can have a drink and a light bite before or after the film. Enjoy a refreshing beer or a delicious coffee and choose from a selection of sandwiches and sweet treats. Specially created, movie themed artwork provides the backdrop for this café where you can sit and discuss the films. As an extra special touch, all screens are licensed, so you are free to take your refreshments into the screen to enjoy with your movie.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Recommended Cinema”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have been to the Light Cinema several times and it's my favourite local cinema. It's conveniently situated near to a variety of restaurants and bars and there's ample free parking close by. The staff are pleasant and the seating comfortable. Some of my older friends take advantage of special afternoon showings with complimentary refreshments.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mooms4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    72
    15
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit and miss when it comes to service.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have been to the light cinema countless times now.
The films have been great and the food lovely with very comfortable seating. However I believe the service lets this place down. On most occasions I have found the service behind the ticket counter to be poor with the staff taking very little interest. At least crack a smile. Baring this in mind, I have come across two particular members of staff that have been simply FANTASTIC. To name and shame, Anna and Laura. I know their names as they have served me a few times now, and the other staff are that miserable I choose to be served by them when I come in if they are there. I always take note of the name badges when I get particularly good service and these two girls prove that it does not hurt to smile to customers and tell them to have a great day. It's the little things. Well done girls. Your customer service is appreciated.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiffyfrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great cinema - shocking recent price hike!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Would be more comfortable if air con ventilated auditoriums or the heating was turned down. Viewing towards end of films becomes almost intolerant because of stale/hot air despite refreshments or even a meander to splash water in face in the facilities.

This is even worse for heat intolerant people such as those with Multiple Sclerosis. Much frequented, popular and otherwise comfortable venue. Staff are always helpful, polite and of generally cheerful disposition. Pre booking and paying for tickets doesn't always negate the queue at peak times as machine is often unreliable. It's great to see people of all ages using this complex although recent increase in admission to £8.75 can be prohibitive if you are not entitled to any concession. It's these sort of charges that have previously seen off all avid cinema goers / film buffs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piranha-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best cinema around”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been to the Light so many times since opening and each time we have had a good positive experience wether it being a family film with the kids or an adult film in the evening .

Nice seats, nice atmosphere and plenty of parking.

Staff are very helpful and the place is always clean. It's nice to have a bar too especially if going in the evening you can even take a wine into the theatre in a plastic glass so feels like a nice proper adult kid free night out .


The popcorn in fresh and much nicer than the stuff available in the other local cinemas.

Good choice of films and huge attraction is not paying extra for 3 D and booking online with 3 children this makes a huge difference.

When it first Opened the cinema was a lot cheaper than the others around, now it isn't which is a shame but the kids am movies though More expensive than the vue are usually more current movies and I have booked to take my children tomorrow. At peak times the children now get a free popcorn so although cost wise it isn't cheaper than the other cinemas now its on a par price wise but they get a little bonus and as far as I am concerned the overall experience is much nicer. My children always ask to go the light . My only little niggle is as its got only 8 screens I think and is so popular often not all the movies are available in 2 and 3 D . Th children went to see train the dragon 2 the other weekend and it was only in 2 D but their free popcorn masked their disappointment as they are on,y young still.

If you need a cinema on the Wirral I would recommend this one over the Vue for overall experience and would say skip the one in Bromborough completely as its dreadful and not in the league of the light.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisaefildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,117 helpful votes
“Great place and very cheap !!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my favourite cinema by far. Lots of space and great prices. My family love it here every time !!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobsterWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Light Cinema also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to The Light Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing