We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable as expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tasca New Brighton - CLOSED

La Tasca New Brighton
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable as expected”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Father's Day & it was manic in the restaurant but the staff handled everything calmly, we had a lovely waitress who was from Spain & she was unflappable & efficient. We always order the paella for two & were prepared for a long wait - food came quite quickly considering the crowd. Chicken & chorizo paella which was very tasty BUT only 4 little squares of chicken & about the same slices of chorizo was NOT enough. We did not complain (should have said something) but given the day, time & amount of people they were serving, we decided to let well alone. It won't change our view of this great place to eat paella & we will be back soon ;-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at La Tasca New Brighton, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hola Denise,

so glad everything went well for your visit and that you enjoyed the food. We try to make sure everyone gets what they want, even on the busy days. All of our Paellas are made to a great standard, but if you think we made a mistake, please always tell us while you are here, so that we can fix the issue then. We love happy bellies! Have a great day and we hope to see you soon.

Hasta Luego,
Jason Fike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    167
    83
    66
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food but...”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a table for 4 people Sunday 16th June 4:30 ... All the food was really good but we waited for 90 mins for our starter ... Then a further 30 mins for our mains .. All the staff were apologetic and gave us complimentary olives.. Fortunately we had good company and weren't in a rush but it doesn't retract from the fact that we were kept waiting for a total of 2 hours .. The staff are fantastic as well as the food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at La Tasca New Brighton, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hola John,

So sorry for the wait on food you experienced. If you have the time we would love to talk to you further, just send us your details and a good time to call. Feedback is the way forward.
latasca.newbrighton@latasca.co.uk.

Gracias,
Jason Fike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait for food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited La Tasca New Brighton on Father's Day, we had reserved a table - two adults & two toddlers. They obviously hadn't anticipated it being so busy & were understaffed, we waited an hour and 15 minutes for food, some of which was luke warm when it finally arrived. Children were very restless due to the wait. We did receive a free drink & 10% off the bill but we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank KAH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at La Tasca New Brighton, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hola KAH81,

We are sorry to hear about your visit with us, but we love to get the details right, so if you could email us your contact details and a good time to call, we would love to get some more information. latasca.newbrighton@latasca.co.uk.

Muy gracias,
Jason Fike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
1 review
“Expensive mistake”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My boyfriend and I went to la tasca in between a level revision, as we thought we'd try something new- never the less it was an incredibly regrettable experience..

Most of the tapas meals we ordered were chicken based and, where they were overpriced and disappointing,
They also contained large bones.. Having swallowed one in his first bite of his meal, my boyfriend got it lodged in his throat and caused him to choke- discomforting and quite distressing.

I brought this to the attention of our waiter, who did not care and also made no attempt to help, offerring nothing but a patronising 'oh dear'. After about 20 minutes, it eventually dislodged - but we'd lost our appetite and didn't chance the chicken again. It wasn't until we came to leave that he offered to ring an ambulance for Sam!!

Also, Our waiter insisted on calling me the wrong name, Helen, for the duration of the evening- despite me correcting him countless times.

Had we have been an older couple, there is no doubt they would have taken more care and bothered with us, especially with the distress of choking on our hands. The lack of care and consideration of the waiter made it an all round unpleasant meal; £40 which was not well spent!

We certainly won't be returning and advise others not to waste their time, particularly younger couples!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at La Tasca New Brighton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hola Hannah,

We would greatly appreciate you either calling us 0151-630-5779 or sending us your contact details and a good time to call, so that we can get the details straight. We are both flabbergasted and horrified at the experience you have put forward and wish to get every detail we can to deal with situation.

Hasta Pronto por favour,
Jason Fike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a family meal here. We were given a table overlooking the lake and river. The food was delicious and our waiter, David, was very friendly and funny, he had us laughing every time he came to the table. A very pleasant evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerri809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at La Tasca New Brighton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hola Kerri,

We are so glad to hear about your lovely experience and will make sure to let David know about your lovely comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Hasta Luego,
Jason Fike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tasca New Brighton also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing