We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
38
16
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
16
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road full english safari park warm welcome another guest lovely family room was spotlessly clean a great place to stay family room good nights sleep comfy bed steam train old building top floor guesthouse trina severn
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I normally stay in city hotels, but I found this place to be quaint for an older building as are most in the village.
The service was fantastic and could not be faulted, and the breakfasts were great value for money. Better than most large hotels!
Although it is situated on a main road with some local traffic noises, a good nights sleep can be had in the comfortable beds.
The older buidling adds to the charm of the stay, and is situated within and easy walk to the village centre. Considering the age of the building, it was good to have private use of facilities with-in the room.
Unlike some hotels, once into the rooms at night, there were no screaming sounds of children as it is child free, although it is apparent that the hostess has relented on occasion. Personally, I prefer the sounds of childless silence.
The town is obviously a popular tourist spot with lots of history, fishing, tourist park, great hotels for dinners and a recently opened Lemur Park.
Would I stay again? Without hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower, unless you prefer bath
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Severn Valley Guest House is undoubtably cheap, but sadly that doesn't mean good value. Our room's walls were paper thin allowing us the pleasure to hear every bathroom noise and conversation made by our neighbours. In addition the cling film window panes fail silence any road noise. In case you needed to be kept awake or irritated even more then you can rely on a chorus of Saniflo systems that do their nest to drown out all other sounds in Worcestershire.

Should you need more noise then simply slide open the bathroom door. its failure to close is less annoying than its impression of a screaming T-Rex. Despite being advised that we were staying with our 15 month old, there was no high chair and our son had to sit in a regular chair for breakfast. Not Great, shan't be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilytravelsUK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed for a two day break with partner to take in the beautiful countryside that bewdley offers. The room was a large double that was clean and tidy. Breakfast was one of the best i've had serving large portions and offering cereal and yogurt. This bed and breakfast is a short walk away from the town centre and close to the river.
we also visited the west midland safari park while we were there and the people running the guest house had discount tickets which was helpful.
I would stay here again because it satisfied all of our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

If you can look past the dated decor and furniture, this was a comfortable night. The guest house is ideally located for both town centre and Severn Valley Railway. Previous reviews gave us some cause for concern, but essentially, this was a hassle free stay. We received a warm welcome and while our room was at the very top of the building (with smaller children it might have been a chore with all the stairs and no lift) - we were helped with our bags. The room itself - a family room - was a good size and the beds were comfortable. Decor, bedding and furniture is in need of serious updating, but everthing was functionable. It was just what we needed - somewhere to lay our head, between activities in the locality. Yes, there was road noise, but this is an old house and we've stayed in louder places! Breakfast was of a good standard and protion sizes were geneorus, without being too filling. However, I would think carefully who I would recommend to stay here - depending on their needs, likes, taste....

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I have recently stayed at the Severn Valley Guest House with my my wife and mother-in-law in order to visit the severn valley railway and West Midlands Safari Park. Although we arrived early Mr Hare took our luggage and told us that they would be in our rooms for us when we had spent the day on the railway. And they were. We found the accomodation spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Mr and Mrs Hare are a lovely friendly couple who deserve to get on in the industry. After a comfortable night we were treat to a very good freshly cooked breakfast. The Guest House is brilliantly situated very close to the railway (5 mins on foot) a short walk to the river and town and 5 mins in the car to the Safari Park. I would visit again and thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews