We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely guesthouse in a charming town”

Severn Valley Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Severn Valley Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely guesthouse in a charming town”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The owner went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and was able to assist us with any inquiries we had. She made amazing breakfast too! We wanted accommodation near Bewdley station and the guesthouse was in walking distance to this. The Severn Valley railway is beautiful and definitely worth a visit. We loved the homely atmosphere and short walk to the main town. The room itself was a little cramped yet it was comfortable and warm and we were not looking for 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malina7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed in the family room with my 2 teenaged boys as was in the area for a family party ,the owner was very friendly and helpfull, parked my car in the locked carpark .The room was a lovely size for the 3 of us with a shower room .Breakfast was lovely with a wide selection for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here after a canoe trip on the nearby River Severn.

The room was practical (if a little cramped) and clean enough. The place could do with a bit of TLC and a bit of a revamp, although it was charming in it's own way.

The macerator in the toilet did make a slightly curious noise and the shower could have been a little more lively.

That said, it was certainly better than spending another freezing cold night in a tent. The owner was very helpful and very accommodating, even after we knocked a picture off the wall with an oar from our canoe.

I feel slightly bad giving this 2/5!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews, I find it difficult to reconcile them to our stay at the Severn Valley Guesthouse. If you want a 5-star hotel, book into a 5-star hotel. If you want good value for money, cleanliness, warmth, comfort, friendly service and great food, consider this guesthouse.

Mrs Hare made us very welcome and went out of her way to help with special dietary requirements. Saniflo toilets do sound different to normal toilets when you flush them but this didn't cause us any disturbance. Likewise, the road noise was noticeable with the windows open but when closed and with the secondary glazing secured, the traffic noise wasn't a problem at all.

It's a shame that some reviews appear to make this sound like Guesthouse Paradiso because that simply isn't the case. We will most certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone for exactly what it is: clean, pleasant, affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidakasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have to say, it is the most welcomed I have ever been made to feel as a guest. The premises are so, so clean and there is an air of freshness. Yes it is dated, but that is proberly because of the listed building status, and adds to the ambience.....Compliments to the Owners on their efforts on making guests feel welcomed. The breakfast is fantastic. Hope they would consider offering evening meals as they obviouly have a fantastic chef lurking in the kitchen.They really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I will be definatly going back........as soon as I am able! 10 out of 10. Bewdley has a gem!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wow! Where to start! Stayed the weekend in this hotel and found it to be a nightmare! Firstly no parking available so had to leave my car in a nearby pub carpark all weekend unattended. My first impressions of the hotel were old, dusty and not looked after. Walls and windows are as thin as paper resulting in every noise from both inside and outside the hotel to be heard as if they were in the same room, I actually thought the windows had been left open it was that loud, not good considering the hotel is on a busy main road into bewdley and right opposite the train line where the steam trains are constantly going past throughut the day - very noisy!!! Then as if there isnt enough noise going on there, the hotel has saniflo systems which regularly screech day and night resulting in little sleep and a few startled wake up calls through the night! No shower in our room which was a problem for us, would have been nice to be warned about that. But considering THAT WE DIDNT HAVE A DOOR ON OUR BATHROOM it really wouldnt have made much difference anyway!!! Also the bathroom tap didnt work but instead sounded like somebody firing a machine gun!!
All in all found our room a complete mess and they ought to be ashamed to expect people to pay to stay in it. The walls were half plastered, half decorated chip wood with a hole in the wall as if somebody had put their foot through it!! Carpet had stains on and was worn and torn in places! The room was freezing cold and dark, but dont think about trying to adjust the radiator as the adjusters HAVE BEEN REMOVED!! The owner was no where to be seen all weekend, even when it came to our departing she simply disappeared.... I WONDER WHY!! I cannot comment on the breakfast as judging by the state of the place I really didnt hold out much hope for the food (and the lack of sleep through noise) meant I didnt even bother going down to breakfast!! Although I can highly reccommend the breakfast at The Riverside Cafe round the corner. Bewdley is a lovely place and would definately visit again but as for this 'guesthouse' we will be avoiding like the plague in future, never again!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J_B486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at this guest house on Saturday 3rd December for 1 night as we were attending an event in the area.

Firstly, this is not one of the big chain hotels so don't expect it. An old building is not going to be the same as a purpose built hotel.

On arrival we weren't sure where to park so we rang the hotel and the proprietor opened a barrier for us to allow us to park our car in a nearby car park.

The proprietor was very friendly on arrival and showed us to our room. The room was a double room with a seperate single bed in it. Watch your head though, there are a lot of low doorways! The room was spotlessly clean and provided the usual tea / coffee making facilities and wall mounted tv. The hotel is near a main road so you do get some traffic noise, however this was not an issue for us. The room had a small en suite bathroom with a saniflow type toilet, sink and shower cubicle, again it was very clean. There were also some mini toiletries available to use.

The weather was cold during our stay, yet despite the old building the rooms were nice and warm.

The breakfast was fantastic. There was cereal and yoghurts available and you could order a full breakfast which we had. The cooked breakfast was really good and served with toast, orange, tea & coffee.

Would we stay here again. Yes, the hotel has a good location near the town centre and river, so if we visit the town again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_West_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
0.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
381 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
862 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severn Valley Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severn Valley Guesthouse

Property: Severn Valley Guesthouse
Address: Westbourne Street, Bewdley, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Severn Valley Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severn Valley Guesthouse Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing