We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hop Pole Inn

The Hop Pole Inn
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run Restaurant and Bar situated in the Georgian town of Bewdley. Menu ranges from Pub Food Favourites to Gastro pub so something for everyone. Real Ales and Chilled lagers with a interesting Wine List. Nice relaxed atmosphere with friendly attentive staff.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After hearing great things about the Hop Pole, we decided, upon moving to that side of town, we'd give our new 'local' a try for lunch. The waitress was cheery enough, but took an age to get our order, so we ordered ourselves at the bar instead of waiting more than the 10 minutes we already had.

Having both had the burgers (make sure you ask for it well done, if you prefer not to have a medium/rare burger), we were both pretty disappointed; it came on a faux tree bark shaped platter, which would be perfect for a cheese and meat selection, but made eating a burger a chips one of the messiest burger eating experiences I'd ever had! Sorry, it might look fancy, but it isn't fit for purpose. And then there's the Hop Pole chutney - I'm sure some would find it to their taste, but I really did not, which wouldn't have been a problem if it had been served separately in a side bowl; instead a massive dollop was placed in the middle of 'tree plate', meaning most things on the plate tasted of it.

I would have happily discussed this with a member of staff, but alas, as when looking to order food, no one was to be seen.

Maybe our expectations were too high, and the pub and restaurant are laid out beautifully, but I don't think we've found our favourite local eatery, just yet...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Not sure what happened here. I'm guessing its a collection of unfortunate events. Great feedback though. Burgers are usually cooked through so apologies that this was not the case for you.

We'll have a look at the recipe for the chutney as it has to be a flavour that suits everyone.

I wouldn't give up on us just yet as we generally get it right and 99.9% of people leave very happy.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    101
    51
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

First time I have been here and the food was really good. Very good standard all round and it is somewhere I will be returning to.

Helpful?
1 Thank baggiesfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many Thanks for your kind comments. I love it when people visit us for their Birthdays, it makes me feel very rewarded that we are a special place to visit. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food: Inexperienced Waiters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed good food well presented from a varied menu.
The staff were friendly and helpful but seemed overwhelmed by the number of diners; we endured a long wait for menus, drinks and to place meal orders.
There was confusion over the dishes we had selected which was amended.
Items were added to our bill that we had not consumed, this was corrected.
Perhaps some more experienced staff would better manage a busy shift.
You deserve to be busy, all the compliments offered to your chef are justified, we shall return midweek to enjoy a less frantic experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nearsherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for the great comments about the food. We have a few new starters getting to grips with the job so apologies if you weren't looked after in the true Hop Pole way. Were nearly there now with the training.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE & FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Always a great atmosphere manager & staff always chatty & very helpful!
Great food always!
Always an event happening.
Roccomend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bollidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many Thanks. Glad you had a great time with us. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Disappointed for the very first time! Nothing actually wrong with food but felt they had tried to be too fancy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Stelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear that our style of food wasn't to your liking. It's true we are trying very hard but probably 99% of our customers love what we're doing. We openly try to make pub food more interesting.

At least you know not to come again as were not your cup of tea!

Strange review if you ask me. Nothing wrong with the food but they are trying to be too fancy?

Effort costs nothing! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hop Pole Inn also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Hop Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing