We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting,pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bewdley
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely setting,pleasant staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a relaxing break away at the Mercure Kidderminster and were pleasantly surprised after reading some negative comments.
The rooms on the ground floor are very spacious.There is a bath as well as a very powerful shower with an abundance of hot water.The bed was very large and comfortable with new pillows.We overlooked a shrub bed and car park and it was very quiet.
The grounds are very pretty and we sat and watched the rabbits playing in the field next door.
We ate in the restaurant and thought the food was excellent.It isn`t cheap (£14 for a chicken breast in mushroom sauce) but the portions were large and the flavours were wonderful.We used our Tastecard and got the food half price which made a huge difference.The cooked breakfast was the best we`ve had in a long time.No frozen hash browns,fresh saute potatoes instead.
The staff we`re very friendly and had time to talk to guests.
It`s true to say that some furniture is a little tired but it is a welcoming hotel with good standards and we can`t understand the criticisms.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor quiet room and that is exactly what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaylover190800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and I was delighted to see that all aspects of your stay was enjoyable. I have all passed on your kind comments to the whole team and we do hope you get the chance to come back and visit us soon. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    172
    137
    69
    55
See reviews for
181
228
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New forest
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is very pleasant hotel surrounded by charming gardens. The evening food in the resturant was very good, and there was an excellent vegetarian breakfast (if you ask).The room was spacious and well furnished and the swimming pool was very good. Our only complaint was that we stayed at the same time as a wedding and some of the guests were shouting outside our room during the night. However, the staff were very pleasant and very appolgetic. Overall, I would recoommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Mercure Kidderminster. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very much in the Mercure style with not a lot going for it in terms of location, the lack of lifts and expensive food was more than made up for by the size of the room and shared terrace. Staff were friendly enough but obviously this hotel is aimed at business travellers.

Room Tip: Room 43 is very spacious and has an outside terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsLot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Mercure Kidderminster. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience on the whole.

Kind Regards,
Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
black country
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Returned on Sunday from a two night break. Booked two rooms B&B for my husband, son, three year old granddaughter and my self. On arrival the hotels exterior looked amazing, ample parking and stunning grounds. Check in was easy with a lovely welcome from the receptionist on duty. Facilities in the room were as expected. The beds had crisp snow white linen.Unfortunately things went a little pear shaped from then. I'd pre paid for one evening meal, which was supposed to be a two course meal from a limited menu, we weren't shown this menu, only the regular restaurant one. Which looked like over price bar food with fancy names. Our waitress told us we were allowed £22pp and went off to enquire about the allowance for our granddaughters meal....never to be seen again! On settling the bill I was told the adult allowance was £17pp. Breakfast was average (having stayed many times in ibis hotels there was no comparison in the choice or quality. Ibis beat it by a country mile). The restaurant was very tired looking, with tape in several places on the carpet and cobwebs decorating the backs of some blinds. On the Saturday night there was no one manning the bar at 10:15pm and we had to ask for service. I'm really surprised this hotel carries an AA 4* rating. It wasn't all bad though, we enjoyed the pool immensely, the kiddies pool was like a lovely warm bath. The changing rooms were spotless and had the use of beautiful white towels free of charge. The hotel makes a good base when visiting the local attractions, and with a little updating would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lovely and quiet Friday night, but as there were wedding receptions Saturday was noisier, but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiebirdtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and all your constructive comments. I have asked the Food & Beverage Manager to review the procedures and improve where necessary. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed Friday and Saturday night as we were attending a Wedding at the hotel. The service all weekend was first class the food was excellent and the grounds are lovely. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the bedroom was clean and comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay and will look at returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked by phone from another hotel...oh dear! We were sold a double room b and b for £129..supposedly first floor. Two flights up chippef paint stairs with dust on all surfaces along the way, to a room so small there was only room for one bedside table, and nowhere to put any luggage or to unpack. The tea making equipment when taken from the wardrobe shelf had no place, and to boil the kettle one had to crouch under the sloping ceiling with the kettle on the carpet. Tiny shower room, basin by the door in the room, and sooo stuffy. To open the window we had to move the tv table, which is when we saw that the window sill is actually crumbling with rot.
We decided this wasn't how we wanted to spend one night of our short break. We were offered a fifty pound reduction, but it was just too poor to be worth that. Moved on after a slow refund. Receptionit was embarassed by the accomodation, and did her best.

Room Tip: Don't go for room three whatever you do, and see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments and I would like to apologise that the room was not to your satisfaction. If you would like to contact me at 033gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk, I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this in more detail. Just one point of reference, room 3 is one of our superior rooms and has an enormous bathroom and a four poster bed, so it is possible that you are referring to a different room, However, please accept my apologies once again.

Kind Regards

Dominic Biggin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bewdley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
899 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
389 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel

Property: Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
Address: Habberley Road, Bewdley DY12 1LA, England (Formerly Mercure Kidderminster Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Kidderminster
Ramada Bewdley
Bewdley Ramada
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing