We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Mug House Inn(Bewdley)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Bewdley)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
187
191
154
88
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
191
154
88
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshealth clubleisure centresafari parkbuffet stylesteam roomfamily roombreakfast staffa ground floor roomfamily weddingcooked breakfastsingle bedwedding receptionbar arealarge roomenjoyable stayfull englishgym
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

2 Star at best. No Fridge. No room Bar. Radiator not working electronic keys failing several mold on curtains Some of the staff were very kind and helpful sadly the majority were at best uninterested. In need of management review at line management, area management and senior management
Very very poor hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank D4000RCrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J, Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear D4000RCrobertb

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are in the relatively early stages of new ownership and as we speak a large amount of investment is being planned and I am sure this investment would be reflected in the next review should you give us an opportunity in the future. As we speak the majority of bedrooms curtains have now been replaced and re decoration of bedrooms is currently underway

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future


Sincerely

Debbie Jagait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie J, Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2017

£491 for 3 nights; where to start? Mould in the shower, ingrained dirt behind the bathroom door, peeling wall-paper and paint in the room, meal on first night served with wilted, yellow salad leaves, cold plates for hot food, breakfast on Friday had to be rewarmed in microwave, cold plates for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday with several trays of cold breakfast items and guests queuing for replacements.

Comments from several other guests at breakfast on the Sunday were greeted with ‘Well, nobody else is complaining’.

Returning to hotel at about 8.45pm on Saturday night from a good meal in Bewdley we found bottles and empty glasses left on walls and around the fountain area and a large group of people smoking just outside the entrance lobby with the smell drifting into the foyer and lounge areas.

When all the above was mentioned to the Receptionist on Sunday check-out, she was totally charming but could only offer ‘sincere apologies’.

The Staff at the Heath really are excellent and are working under difficult conditions but should be trained in how to handle complaints; the place reeks of sloppy management.

I have now stayed in several hotels run by the Jupiter Group and marketed under the Mercure brand. The Heath Hotel, like the other Jupiter-run hotels I have visited, is pretty average. They are generally clean and comfortable, the Staff are excellent, but the food is sometimes ‘just-about’ edible.

However, Mercure, they are not. Whilst the vast majority of real Mercure hotels are fresh and stylish, those in the Jupiter Group seem stuck in a time-warp encompassing the late 70s to early 80s evidenced by the style and age of the fixtures and fittings, the furniture and aged décor. There is also the liberal attitude of allowing smoking adjacent to entrances allowing the smell of stale cigarette smoke to drift into the reception and lounge areas.

My wife and I remarked that it is like going back to the Dinner-Dances we used to attend at hotels in the 1970s where brown décor and furniture was used to mask the fug of tobacco and to brighten up the colours of the prawn cocktails and Black Forest gateau that were inevitably on the menu!

My advice would be to go to the actual hotel website before booking to check the provenance of ownership. For a real ‘Mercure experience’ make sure it is owned and managed by Accor/Mercure.

It may be worth the Accor Group creating a new brand for hotels in the Jupiter Group offering a lower-cost experience for the curious hotch-potch of hotels in the Jupiter Group.

I’ve stayed in worse hotels than the Heath but it really needs to improve before I would be tempted to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J, Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Ken140

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are in the relatively early stages of new ownership and as we speak a large amount of investment is being planned and I am sure this investment would be reflected in the next review should you give us an opportunity in the future.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future


Yours Sincerely

Debbie Jagait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Although a little dated the hotel was very pleasant to stay in. I had booked the gourmet break for friends for late May bank holiday, the food was delicious and plenty of it especially for the price we paid. Hotel rooms nicely furnished and bed comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. The added bonus was the spa area especially on a wet afternoon after being out all morning visiting tall ships in Gloucester.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the woods
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 323cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J, Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear 323cooke

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay.

Plans are in place for the refurbishment on some of our rooms, with the rest of the public areas to be completed this year. It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our team's professionalism and your dinner in the restaurant; I will pass your comments on to Chef and the rest of the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Yours Sincerely

Debbie Jagait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Its a nice hotel, in a nice location with warm and friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable and there is good parking on site. However, dining and drinking were "hit and miss" during our visit. Drinks are comparatively very expensive for this class of hotel and the bar wasn't always staffed early evening, Our meal is the restaurant was OK but not great value, and the breakfast buffet was only luke warm, there was no marmalade available on either of our two days. Ordered a sandwich in the bar on the second evening, only to be subsequently told there was no ham in the kitchen. Disappointing food shortages in a hotel of this quality and price!

Room Tip: Check for accessibility
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J, Manager at Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mike941

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us.
We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns with my Operations Manager and Head Chef to address the shortfalls in our service

It is our hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future

Sincerely

Debbie Jagait
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews