We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's What it Is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant

Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bewdley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
Wales
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“It's What it Is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is an enterprise owned Inn with plenty of character and you have to take it for what it is. If your looking for something clinical and upmarket - forget it. These places are quirky and quaint It's frequented by the locals has an inglenook fireplace and serves a range of real ales. I did not eat there except for breakfast. The breakfast is traditional and well cooked. The rooms need a make over but what the hek you pay for what you get. Outside traffic can be a nuiscence but the location is central.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    3
    7
    15
See reviews for
7
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Travelling on the Severn Valley Railway and decided to go here for lunch, glad we did, very friendly and great food......see you again next time.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave186459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just come back from spending excellent weekend at this hotel. We were in Bewdley for 40's weekend on Severn Valley Railway and as hotel is only 5 minuute walk from Station it was a good choice. We were surprised to find salon bar decorated in red, white and blue decs for 40's and they also had a 40's menu. We stayed in 4 poster room which was lovely. Food in hotel all freshly cooked and excellent value. The Staff were very friendly and pleasant as well as all the locals. If you are visiting the area Iwe would strongly recommend this hotel. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Decided to have Sunday lunch with my Mother & husband, we were not residents. We are a Bewdley family and I think we were remembering the good old days in this hotels' history when we made the booking, we've had many superb family meals in this hotel - until today.
Should have observed the warning signs we were the only people in the 'eating' part of the bar area at 1pm - a chilly rather tired room with very inappropiate music (probably the favourite choice of the bar staff). I am a mere housewife of 30 odd years standing but it beggars belief how anyone can present a plate of food like we had today & think it acceptable - it consisted of roast meat which was very tender (thank God this was OK!), lumpy mashed potatoe, undercooked roast potatoes and cold vegetables. We flagged up the fact that the mash was ugh & we were brought more roasties but 'chef' had obviously warmed these through in the deep fat fryer - not nice! Given that when asked if we had enjoyed our meal and we said NO - meat OK, rest horrible there was no response - no sorry, no nothing. We settled the bill and de-camped to another local pub/restaurant to complete our meal with desserts & coffee. I really hope that the owners had given the chef the day off as this meal had surely been 'cooked' by a person with no cooking skills - come up to my house & I'll give you some lessons - a roast dinner is not too diificult to perfect!

Room Tip: Not resident, food only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bewdley hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stopped here for 1 night, £40 B&B. Was given an ensuite family room (no7) with a double and a single bed. Excellent well appointed room, sadly the free wi-fi available in the bar did not reach room 7 on the second floor.

Pub and hotel was very quiet on the night of my visit which may explain why it took ages for the hot water to run through the bathroom taps the following morning, but when it did it was plentiful and hot. Shower was disappointingly weak. An extra plug socket, or extension cable to charge the mobile would be handy in the bedroom. Usual tea and coffee facilities in the room and complimentary toiletries for the bathroom. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in recently.

Cooked breakfast was plentiful although orange juice and cereal would be welcome.

Can't understand why the hotel was so quiet as it certainly ticks all the boxes as far as i'm concerned. The recent change of ownership may have something to do with this. No hesitation in recommending the place to anyone visiting Bewdley, handy for the Severn Valley Railway

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurostardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

From the moment we arrived at The Black Boy the welcome we recieved was second to none - the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home and this continued throughout our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel was perfectly situated to explore the beautiful surroundings in Bewdley. I would be delighted to come back and stay here again - the pub had a really vibrant, homely and friendly atmosphere and we were made to feel a real part of the place. The delicious food was the perfect tonic to our long journey and we couldn't have to hoped to find a better place to stay and thank you to all of the staff who made our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stumbled by the Black Boy in February this year after a day out. We were hungry and wanted something substancial (ie steak). We arrived about 5pm, went to order our food and found out they weren't serving until 7pm. We stayed for a drink and a few minutes later the Manager came up to us and apologised to us for not serving hot food, and offered us a sandwhich. We were blown away by this gesture; but unfortunately we did decline as our appetites wanted more than a sandwhich! A few minutes later the Manager came back us and told us the chef didn't mind getting us our steak. Were do you get that service??????? We were not let down by the food either, the steak was delicous so we went away very satisfied customers and still couldn't believe that a business went out their way like that. Since then we have gone back several times for Sunday lunch which is such good value and you will never taste beef like it, we have stayed a couple of times overnight (inc yesterday BBQ, pig roast) again the meats were absolutely mouth watering and we had a great time. This is a very old pub, so its very oldie worldy, and its great the owners have kept original features to the building, if you are looking for a local, friendly atmospheric pub this is the place for you. You will get a warm welcome, the staff can not do enough for you and you are in a prime location to see the sights of Bewdley.

Room Tip: Remember! This is an old pub/building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welch Gate Guest House
Welch Gate Guest House
#9 of 15 in Bewdley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mug House Inn
Mug House Inn
#3 of 15 in Bewdley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Bewdley DY12 lAG , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel And Restaurant Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing