We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New broom sweeps clean”

Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bewdley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
bewdley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New broom sweeps clean”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the Black Boy recently and can only say "Wow what a transformation" from a while back...
Recently taken over by new owners they have completely transformed the place.
Bar area now tastefully redecorated and a pleasant place to stand or sit and chat in front of the open fire.
A good choice of excellently kept beers and wines are offered and we were lucky enough to visit on a weekend with barbecue outside where we had delicious home made burgers and "proper" chips.
We didn't stay at the Hotel but looking at the standard of the refurbishment to the toilets/cocktail bar and other areas I would readily recommend it.
Owners and their handsome son Simon are perfect hosts being polite but not intrusive.
Bar area is dog friendly and treats and water also provided for a hungry hound.
Having visited this establishment some time back when it was nothing short of horrendous I would urge anyone to give it another try. You won't be disappointed.
I suggest also ignoring any Trip Adviser reviews over three months old as they refer to the previous ownership when I think the hotel was run by the "Addams Family"

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodger4698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    3
    7
    15
See reviews for
8
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Antique hotel in Bewdley. Rooms comfortable, hotel public areas well kept and interesting. Plenty of nooks and crannies to hide away from mother in laws, or the wife. Meals were better than I expected for a hotel. The whole hotel is creaky and has low ceilings, so beware. Its also next to a preserved railway line, so don't be surprised if a steam locomotive parks up outside and whistles loudly...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Recently enjoyed a Lovely nights stay. Would highly recommended. The area is great for walkers or anyone wanting to visit the local area. Steam trains are nice if you can time them right.

Would of liked a larger breakfast but it was certainly worth the money. If we were passing the area again I'd like to think we would choose this establishment

Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

stayed at the Blackboy with friends and we all had a great time!
bar was full of friendly locals watching the Rugby, dinner was great with lots of choice, the cocktail bar was fun with good value cocktails that actually have alcohol in!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

2 minutes walk from the town centre, close to the Severn valley railway, food is spot on, the new cocktail lounge was lively and good fun, nice big four poster bed in the room, friendly staff, was a very enjoyable stay, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pope182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It Is Very Bad!!!!!!!! the person who described it as an Absolute Tip was right....

On Arrival we were asked to pay upfront by someone who was the cleaner.
That should have rung a bell..

The room was not ready so we did a walkabout for awhile ,on our return we shown to the room
We were placed @ the top of the hotel with the bathroom down the corridor, was told it would be a private bathroom if only it was.
The bedroom door was very heavy and could only be opened by 2 people (we are pensioners)
it would only stay open by inserting a piece of wood wedging it open, the wood they produced was small & not strong enough, the actual lock of the door was broken on the inside it was hanging on a piece of wood that was loose,,their were two keys which were useless ,it took numerous turns of the key to open..
So we unpacked our selves in the room we did have extra beds as it was a for 4 people..
When you go out of the room the door slams shut because it is a very heavy door(prob built when hotel was)so you have to have your key with you or a person in the room to let you back in,as to wood given to us was USELESS..(then it dissapeared strange )
So night time trips to the loo were terrible,my hubby had to do centry duty so i could get back in to the room..
Next morning early we go about our Ablutions trying to keep the door open whilst we visit the bathroom....
My hubby on his way to bathroom trips over the unlevel step of the bedroom does a forwared roll towards the Fire escape i go to help him DOOR SHUTS! keys are inside the room..
I go down stairs looking for Someone to help no one is there it is all locked up.
So down the firescape i go in bare feet hoping to find some one shoutin Hello, into the open kitchen door ( O -NO decided breakfast was not on the menu as no-one there to cook it, probably the amount of cleaning they would have to get thru had put off staff from applying for a job as CHEF..)
Climbing back up the firescape was not on my list of things to do first thing in the morning.
So went back down again to look for anything that would open the blessed door in my Bare Feet

Going thru someone elses rubbish in the back yard i find a Tool up again to room, we manage to eliviate the lock, we get in..
WHAT A PLACE...
We did go out , but we gather their is no fire alarm as it would have gone off when the fire doors were open..
2 nights in THE HOUSE OF HORRORS cost us £130 with no Breakfast..
Plus no-one to complain to either..

How do they get away with calling it a HOTEL..
DO NOT STAY THERE....

I HAVE SINCE LEARNT IT IS FOR SALE, it would need a MILLIONAIRE to put it in any usuable condtion.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 70jann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bewdley hotels

Pyle, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed for one night and that was one to many. Heating broken down,dead insects on the bed,no breakfast due to the chef off,promised a packed lunch to be made up for the next day but did not materialise,freezzing cold shower,stank of ciggerette smoke,i could go on and on!!!! Do not stay in this place ,at best i would rate it as a filthy doss-house!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welch Gate Guest House
Welch Gate Guest House
#9 of 15 in Bewdley
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mug House Inn
Mug House Inn
#2 of 15 in Bewdley
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Black Boy Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Bewdley DY12 lAG , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bewdley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel And Restaurant Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing