We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomodoro

Pomodoro
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in Bewdley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This restaurant is really rustic and has a charming appeal, but the food we received let it down. I had meatballs and spaghetti, the spaghetti and sauce was nice but the meatballs were tasteless. I was very disappointed - also thought overpriced as my meal which contained only three small meatballs was priced at over £9. We will not be returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    31
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, disheartening service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times because the food is so brilliant, especially the pizzas. I cannot fault them with regards to the food-it is brilliant!! The restaurant is really well decorated and seems quite authentically Italian. The drinks menu is really good too and also very Italian. I have been told that the chefs are Italian, and it really comes across in the food.

However, the service is consistently disappointing. Staff are friendly but most times I visit they mess up my order, despite not making any adjustments to the food. On one visit my vegetarian friend was given a meat pizza and then blamed by the waiter for lying about her order-why would a veggie order a meat pizza?! My more recent visits have seen the addition of Italian waiting staff which doesn't really work-their English isn't good enough to understand what you are trying to order. The last time I visited the owner made a negative comment about my walking stick and it has put me off visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilkesy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An Italian in Bewdley was a great idea, but sadly this does not live up to expectations.
Very slow service, not enough staff and overpriced. Starters arrived and were ok, main courses very poor. If an Italian can't serve decent pizzas and carbonara then there is really not much hope. Pepperoni pizza had 3 pieces of pepperoni and not much else. Garlic bread was ordered and charged for but did not arrive. A very poor experience and we won't be back sadly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JC1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and evening again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to Pomodoro a few times now, and have always had a great evening. Once again we were not disappointed! The service was friendly but not over imposing and the food colourful and delicious. I would highly recommend the selection of light and flavoursome pizzas, as well as the home made desserts. Pomodoro is a relaxing and vibrant restaurant, full of Italian ambiance! We will be returning soon....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

no rush from waitresses to take drink order and then delay in taking food order. Starters were fine probably best part of the meal. Very average pizza's mostly cheese even though pepperoni topping was ordered. However don't bother with the desert menu as most of the menu wasn't available. Pre booked table for 6.....perhaps a little obvious that some would like a desert! Might help if the waitresses were aware what was available on the menu before taking the order. Shan't be rushing back. Carluccio's next time :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pomodoro also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing