We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of Mug House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mug House Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Booked this little pub/guest house for two nights for my birthday trip which included the Severn Valley Railway. What an excellent place this is. Firstly the superb location on the river with the boathouse opposite and the bridge a few yards away. We had the Daffodil Room which had river views and was delightful (complete with "teddies on the bed"). The room was olde-worlde with beams and timber struts and sloping floors! Nice comfy bed and plenty of storage space for clothes etc. Very spacious bathroom (almost like two rooms with wc and basin at one end and the bath/shower at the other). TV and tea/coffee maker with the lovely addition of fresh milk and cold water in the fridge. Breakfast was taken in the restaurant and was the full English! and very good quality it was too. Juices and home-made yogurt pots and fresh hot tea with warm toast - just what we needed to start the day. Fabulous outside drinking area across the little cobbled road and right on the river where we sat and enjoyed a pint or two of locally brewed beers. The bar was busy and I was impressed with the way customer queued in an orderly fashion to get served. In the wartm summer your windows will be open and there may be some noise from outside but only till the pub closes and we were part of the crowd anyway so no problem! Very genial; helpful and efficient staff who made our visit a pleasure.There was a BBQ on the terrace at the rear where we had a very good burger and home made chips. Excellent value for money for drinks; food and accomodation. If you come by car they will give you a parking permit for the car park round the corner. Bewdley is a very pleasant riverside town and well worth a visit as, of course, is the steam railway. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Mug House and will certainly be back - don't miss it !

Room Tip: The river view rooms have - obviously - the best vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a quick stop-over for a couple of nights (18th & 19th July). What a gorgeous little hotel. It is positioned down a little cobbled street right on the edge of the River Severn. Table & chairs outside so you can relax with your glass of wine or beer and take in the scenery of the goings on up and down the river (wildlife & the Bewdley rowing club practicing). In the evenings the street has a buzzy atmosphere and there are a couple more pubs along the walk way. Everyone is friendly and chatty, They close at usual pub times so it’s quiet through the night. The hotel frontage is in full bloom with a variety of sized hanging baskets. There is a beer garden out the back. Our room was in the cottage part of the hotel (2nd floor). Carpeted spiral staircase so was a little difficult with a big suitcase, but once in the room it was lovely with a fantastic view overlooking the river. There was a fridge in the room with plenty of bottled water and milk in a bottle for your tea and coffee. Lots of biscuits too...

Breakfast in the mornings was nice, plenty to choose from off the menu. This sets you up for exploring Bewdley and the surrounding area. On one morning we took the Severn Valley steam train to Bridgenorth (takes 1hr). It is about a 15 min walk to the station from the hotel. Bewdley town is a busy little town with very friendly people. Teddy Grays sweetshop is a must to bring back some nostalgia.

Dinner at the hotel was beautiful and exceedingly tasty. I had a lovely rib eye steak (£16.95) which was presented very well. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back to this quaint little place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSling077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My daughter and my best friend joined me for a girl's weekend and we stayed in this lovely little hotel/pub/restaurant right beside the Severn. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the rooms were clean and quaint. The views were great .We were worried about noise as the pub was so busy, but all was silence after 11 30 pm. Lots to see in the area and I recommend a visit to Arley and a trip on the steam train.We also found a great italian restaurant in the High street.

Room Tip: the flower rooms were closest to the lounge and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for 1 night in the daffodil room. Great sized room. The decor was very old fashioned and not very stylish at all - but very clean and had everything I needed. Lots of biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities plus bottled water and a fresh pint of mik in the fridge - much nicer than cartons! Room over looked the river and I had a great night's sleep. Staff were very friendly. Full English breakfast was huge, tasty and lovely and served up until 10am which was great for a lie in.

Free parking is farily near - access may be a little difficult if you need to drop heavy bags off before parking (the Inn is on a narrow one way lane) so be prepared to carry them a little way! Make sure you have some cash on you when you check in, as a cash (£10) deposit is needed for the parking pass.

Room Tip: Daffodil and Lavender overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEEWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at Bewdley on a hot summer's evening. Lots of people sitting by the river having a drink.Very pleasant town with lovely atmosphere. The Mug House Inn is charming and full of character, its very popular and we could see why. Our room was in the cottage adjacent to the main building, overlooking the river which was a bonus. The room was clean and beds very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities with a bottle of fresh milk in the fridge instead of those annoying little sachets!

Breakfast was excellent, as much as you wanted with an excellent range of fresh products, which we had seen delivered ourselves an hour or so before. Staff helpful and friendly.

We stayed here for access to the Severn Valley Railway and it was ideally situated just around the corner.

I cannot fault this Inn and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had a weekend break here end April. The Mug House was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the Lavender Room which was comfortable and spacious. It kept the charm of a centuries old building whilst also providing 21st century conveniences. One wonders what old inhabitants of this building would have made of me watching live rugby on an iPad in my room via the wonders of wifi!
Pub is great, a real pleasure to find this type of establishment in today's plastic pub age. Weekend days it does get full, testimony to the good ale, excellent staff and pleasant atmosphere.
Restaurant tables definitely need to be per booked - it has only about 30 covers and is very popular. Good value menu and food was good and well presented.
Location next to the river is pleasant and was well suited for our main activity for the weekend, some nice long walks. The Severn Valley Railway is always evident - there is something evocative about walking beside the river watching a steam engine chuffing up the valley line.
Back to the hostelry, mention must be made about the really pleasant and helpful staff from the owner/manager to the bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and they all went out of their way to be as helpful as possible. This really does turn a decent stay into a great one.
Overall a lovely place and well worth a visit. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Spent the weekend at the Mug House. A brilliant location within a very attractive town. I was a little concerned about the parking but it wasn't an issue, despite the local council building a fun fair around my car on the Saturday morning! It's in an excellent location right in the centre of a town with no supermarket and hence some interesting shops and restaurants. We decided on an Indian meal on the Friday night and had a choice of restaurants and very little to choose between them.

On both evenings the bar was full but we had no problem finding a table and the service was both quick and friendly. On the Saturday we ate in the restaurant and could not fault the meal or the service. The room (Daffodil) was fine, with the usual sort of chorus created by the creaking boards that you get in old buildings. The fresh milk in the bedroom fridge was a very nice touch.

Breakfast on the Saturday was fine but on the Sunday my wife's scrambled egg arrived in a rubbery state. For her inedible. The reason given was that previous guests had requested their scrambled eggs dry and the chef had cooked hers the same. There was however a similarity between the eggs served and the kind you get in a buffet breakfast where the food is kept warm under lights. They immediately offered to replace the breakfast but unfortunately when your expectations have been dashed, your appetite disappears. The contrast with the previous night's dinner was startling.

In no way did it spoil our weekend and if the opportunity arises we will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alunsimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mug House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mug House Inn

Address: 12 Severn Side North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mug House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you at The Mug House Bewdley's finest Riverside Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our AA 4 star highly commended bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Mug House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mug House Hotel Bewdley
Mug House Inn Bewdley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing