We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Fladbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Found the Chequers at short notice on an Iphone App, after our job over ran, whilst working in nearby Eversham. Fladbury is very rural, & the pub doesn't open til 6pm so we found a couple of pubs nearby (one next door (not all that), the other a mile or so away).
When we checked in, it was obvious we'd struck lucky (bearing in mind, we'd chosen the cheapest option from my phone). A roaring wood burner made the bar cosy, & the bar staff were very friendly, Doombar was my choice of ale ( & most of the other punters too, I noticed).
Dinner was very nice, chosen from a couple of menu's or the special of the day, & very reasonally priced.
The room was spacious, warm & clean.
Breakfast was in the rear conservatory, with the fry up being a good size, & very tasty.
I've paid a lot more, for a lot less. Hopefully I'll get stuck in the Evesham/Fladbury area again one day

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilncrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    19
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for one night with friends and would definately recommend it if looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay close to Evesham. Reasonable sized, clean room with comfortable bed with comfy quilt. There was plenty of hot water with bath and good powerful shower. We had an excellent evening meal and although the menu is limited I would recommend eating in if you can. The village is very quiet so not much to do there but only 4 miles from Evesham. If you're not late night people I'd recommend booking a room at the back as our friends had a room over the bar which was noisy until the bar shut at 11pm after that it was really quiet - barely heard anything especially as its down the end of a cul de sac. Only thing we didn't like were the curtains which were made of netting and as we weren't sure how good they were we ended up dressing in the dark. Finally they have two room which share a large balcony, great for friends to share although I'd only pay the extra £15 per room if you think you'll use it as otherwise its a waste

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not over the bar area if you want to get to sleep before 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Eight of us met up for a weekend of National Trust visits. Saturday was Coughton Court, and Sunday Hidecote Gardens. Fladbury is an easy drive from both.
Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, and our evening meal was wonderful. Freshly prepared tasty food and excellent service. The quet village location meant a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was a treat too - very relaxed and plenty of tea, coffee, toast etc - and an excellent cooked breakfast.
Definitely good value for money

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Chequers is one of two pubs in Fladbury, a quiet and unspoiled village just East of Pershore, Worcestershire. The other, the Anchor, is a straightforward drinking pub. The Chequers offers B&B and meals. The rooms are small and old fashioned but clean, comfortable, equipped with everything you could want and exceptionally good value. The welcome is warm and genuine. The meals are all prepared by the owner and served by the family. Vegetable ingredients come from their own allotment and local farms, meat from local suppliers only. The menu is sensibly short and, as with the rooms, the value is amazing. Breakfast is relaxed and comprehensive: basically anything you want and cooked while you wait. If you want somewhere to stay for a night or for a few days of sightseeing you really couldn't do better than this.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Found this place to stay via the Internet, for a visit to the RHS Flower Show in Malvern (about 25 minutes drive away). Fladbury is a small attractive village and the Chequers is tucked away behind another pub.

As we pulled into the ample car park situated around the side and back of the inn we looked at the back of the inn and were a bit apprehensive. However, as soon as we opened the front door and entered the inn we were completely captivated. The room was almost but not quite olde worlde with genuine old features rather than the artifical props. The seating around the edges of this rectangular space was comfy and there were plenty of wooden tables . There was a lot of people in so obviously a popular spot.

We were promptly shown to our room upstairs which demonstrated how old this place was. Our room was an absolute delight. No it wasn't modern and didn't have bidets, modern furniture, hi-tech HD TV's or even complimentary soap but we had a fantasic old oak 4 poster bed, carpet throughout, great working heating which considering the coldness of the weekend we had was very very welcome, lovely fluffy towels, a working TV, Kettle and tea/coffee, hairdryer and we shared a balcony outside with our friends in the next room. Had it been better weather we would have been able to have sat outside on the tables and chairs provided with a glass of wine looking out over the beautiful Cotswold countryside.

We had two wonderful evening meals here, the menu is quite rustic but really reasonably priced, homemade and totally delicious. You can choose whether to eat in the bar or go into the conservatory around the back. This looks like a new addition on the back of the Inn and is light and airy and looks out into an enclosed back courtyard which again has seats in for warm sunny evenings. Breakfast is served when you want, just let someone know the time you will be down. The breakfast itself is cereals and a fry up with toast and jam etc. I'm afraid no buffet with 5 flavours of yogurts etc but we fould the quality was wonderful.

Les the Landlord is really lovely, and was so helpful when we asked for places to visit. He is also responsible for a lot of the excellent meals which we ate and along with his 2 lovely dogs made us all feel really welcome. All his staff, were also helpful, friendly and could'nt do enough for us.

We will be back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fladbury
1.4 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
3.3 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.6 mi away
Eckington Manor
Eckington Manor
#1 of 3 in Eckington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn

Property: Chequers Inn
Address: Chequers Lane, Fladbury WR10 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Fladbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fladbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rural 14th centruy inn with great restaurant extended large gardens looking over bredon hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Inn Fladbury, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing