We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foods great, service is rubbish”
Review of Mitre Oak

Mitre Oak
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Hartlebury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Foods great, service is rubbish”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Food is lovely, cheap too. Although it was empty the service was shocking, I had to go and ask to have our plates removed and if we could order desserts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    84
    64
    41
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

excellent food good value for money buy 1 get 1 free was good service was good and friendly
good range of beers would use again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ringw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, unhelpful staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Popped in on passing, ordered 2 burgers and a childs meal. the burger bun was soggy and the burger was burnt, the staff took it back and brought them back in new stale buns. Unhappy and didnt want to eat them, the manager was very unhelpful and offered us 15% off the meal, not happy as we didn't even eat it. Would never visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaykayge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a great atmosphere, not a great experience.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We are a family of six and came here on the way back from a funeral.I wish we'd gone a little further before stopping, but it's near home and we'd been here before a few years ago.

The staff were pleasant enough, friendly and accommodating but the atmosphere in the whole place is, in a word, tired.
It's dingy and the furnishings are shabby and stained.
It's not very clean either, the table was dirty the cutlery didn't bear close inspection and the glasses were dirty and scratched.
As it is a Marstons you expect a certain standard but this lets down the chain badly and seriously needs updating and rejuvenating.
The food order was taken quickly and arrived quite quickly but not very impressed with the quality. The boys had well done steaks which were tough, I had BBQ chicken but it was quite dry despite the sauce and the chips were not nice. One daughter had a sandwich but left half of it and the other only had a pudding as the choice wasn't great and we weren't aware of a children's menu. It would have been nice to have smaller portions of the main menu available. I don't think it is very good value.
The ladies toilets were dated and dirty, one cubicle had a broken lock and the other two had been used and not flushed ( sorry if TMI ! Some people like to know, especially if you have young children).
I'm sorry I couldn't be more positive about this visit. We just wanted to end the day with a pleasant experience, unfortunately we didn't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatsoflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awful service, alright food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A group of us went on the weekend for food. There was a sign saying it was a 45 minute wait for a table but found an empty one straight away. There is a severe lack of atmosphere in the Mitre Oak, and the lack of people in there definitely contributes towards this. The waitress seemed bored and distracted, making a half-hearted effort to be polite. She came back at least 3 times to ask if we were ready to order our food and seemed annoyed each time we asked for a few more minutes. The employee behind the bar seemed to be at the end of his tether. However, I have heard plenty of times that the staff turnover is high because of how poorly the management treats them, so I did try not to be too judgemental. The food was quite poor, although edible. Normally 241 restaurants aren't exactly brilliant, but this was very disappointing. Would not bother eating her again due to the awful atmosphere and the way the staff made you feel unwelcome and a burden.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EAK137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitre Oak also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Belbroughton, Worcestershire
 
Romsley, Worcestershire
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Hartlebury, Kidderminster
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Mitre Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing