We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun and Slipper

Sun and Slipper
Ranked #21 of 117 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic
Great Food
Great Ambience
Highly Recommended
Venison was superb as was the Rib of Beef
Very Good Value
Nice people

Helpful?
1 Thank Winnsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    25
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mamble
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valentines Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've had a number of meals in the Sun & Slipper, bar snacks, Sunday lunches and evening dinners. They've all been superb. Roger is a class act in the kitchen. So for a change, we tried the special valentines day menu. This was a fixed price, three course, menu of £29.85 providing a good choice of starters, mains and desserts followed by tea or coffee.

I must say it was one of the best meals I've ever had. The service was nice and friendly, not stuffy or over-fussy and I'd certainly recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanMamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dearer than most but you get fabulously cooked food, greta atmosphere and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Really wish it was round the corner, as the best restaurant that we use. Friendly welcome, lovely atmoshere and excellent food. Really good selection of wines to choose from. Really nice restaurant and liked by everyone who comes with us. Well done Roger and Wendy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“How do you top that?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited today for Sunday lunch and have to say it was one of the finest meals I have ever had in the UK, if not the finest.

The whole experience was perfect from the system used to move you through the Pub? I mean top class restaurant to the fantastic food prepared with care obviously by a Chef who is not only competent in his/her art but thrives on producing amazingly prepared and sumptuos food.

The restaurant is in excellent condition, with even the washrooms being of 'Savoy' quality, the giant St Bernard asleep in the corridor added a delightful homely feel.

We had four different dishes and all exceeded expectations with the Bread and Butter pudding begging us to stay longer!

This was our first visit to this first class location in the middle of the idilic countryside surrounding Clows Top and will not be our last, thank you to the excellent staff for taking care of us so courtesously and professionally.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Bewdley and the surrounding area has a fair few country pubs offering great food and atmosphere. However this restaurant is my all time favourite. Mamble is about 10-15minutes drive out of the town centre. Set menu is available on weekend evenings, which is greatly appreciated if you are dropping in for a quick-eat. The a la Carte menu I have found extensive - with duck breast! (Mmmmm).. Having worked in a restaurant for the last 7 years, I can only compliment the pub for its efforts. Who would have thought having your own salt and pepper grinder with a flower on the table would make such a difference? The pub boasts a great atmosphere on the times I have visited, be it buzzing with life or quiet and relaxed. Tables are adequate in the restaurant but unlike most - not overcrowded or intrusive. It's the small things which show the efforts that have gone into this pub, which contribute to the high standard of food and service that I have always been fortunate to receive. Keep doing what your doing. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Hmf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun and Slipper also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Sun and Slipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing