We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management! Extremely pleasant and helpful staff and service!”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #33 of 123 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Country Pub with homecooked food and real ales large beer garden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Under new management! Extremely pleasant and helpful staff and service!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On our way back from Stourport, we decided to stop by and have a quick drink at the 'Hare and Hounds'. The weather was beautiful and the tables and benches in the beer garden were plentiful. My young daughter had been in the paddling pool at Stourport and had fallen in the water, fully clothed. When we arrived at the pub, she was soaked through. The very kind staff offered to put her shorts through the tumble dryer and gave us an oversized tee-shirt to wear; until her shorts had dried! How very thoughtful and kind of them. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. There are even a couple of swings and a slide for the children to play on, this is also a nice touch. We shall definitely return when we visit Stourport again! Thankyou! The pub is under new management and well worth a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellepoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    8
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic...better than Groupon!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We also had a Groupon voucher that was no longer valid and after reading some of the reviews below we were quite unsure but thought we'd give them a try...and so glad we did.
It really does seem unfair of people to post reviews saying poor service when it's relating to the previous owners not the current ones. I truly hope that people give this place a try as it was well worth it.

We went with 2 small children (2 years and 6 months) and the staff did everything they could to accommodate us. We felt so welcome and as a breastfeeding mom this was wonderful as not all places do!!

The food was lovely, it's great to see a menu with so much home cooked food on it (not the usual premade stuff). Definitely recommend the chicken & veg pie, and baileys cheesecake!!!

There was a really homely feeling to the pub and we
felt so comfortable there!

We will be returning...very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recommend”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I would completely recommend this pub to anybody the home made food was delicious really enjoyed it, service was fantastic, will definitely visit again. all in all an absolute great pub definitely recommend everyone to try :-D

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthewbowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Late lunch ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Called in for a lightsnack which was home made food,good atmosphere,good beer, friendly staff would recommend,under new management will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“They should be embarrassed”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've just received an email from Groupon saying that my Sunday lunch for 4 voucher for the Hare and Hounds will not be honoured. The reviewer below says the pub is now under new management. Surely pub takeovers don't happen overnight?! They must have known what was about to happen. We tried to book when we first bought the voucher but the very brusque woman who answered the phone snapped "Is it Groupon?" and when we said it was she said they couldn't fit us in that week or the week after. I'm actually glad the voucher has been cancelled and I will get my money back - after the 'phone call I wasn't looking forward to going anyway. NOBODY FORCES THESE BUSINESSES TO MAKE OFFERS VIA GROUPON, SO IF THEY GO WITH GROUPON THEY SHOULD DO SO WITH GOOD GRACE OR NOT AT ALL. I hope you are embarrassed by your incompetence and unprofessionalism, if not you should be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing