We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of China Lodge

China Lodge
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've been twice now; once with friends and once with my mum & sister. Both evenings were perfect. The food is amazing and you can taste that everything is cooked fresh and served straight away. The chefs are really talented. The serving staff are an absolute delight and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again, a true little oasis. Thank you so much.

Helpful?
Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    104
    39
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best we've ever had”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really cannot knock the food, and it came as quick as you like! Efficient no nonsense service, I'm upset I could not leave a tip as we had no cash and the card machine didn't allow it.
Best satay chicken we've ever tasted, with perfect egg fried rice and lovely noodles. Mandarin chicken delish!
You people in Bewdley are lucky to have a gem like this.
Hope we work in Bewdley again, but I'm sure we will make an excuse to come......well done China Lodge....outstanding!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Visited China Lodge with friends and was very impressed. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the restaurant decor and seating spot on. The portions were large and we found the prises quite reasonable. A lovely night

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Just the right amount of attention and good quality food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were at the China Lodge on a Sunday afternoon. There were two other customers. There were 11 of us. There is a little sofa and a place to hang one's coats and umbrellas by the door near the bar.They seated us at a sunny table and quickly provided the right drinks as ordered.

The two waiters went round the table efficiently taking our orders and advising whether rice or noodles were appropriate for each dish. When my elderly mother inadvertently ordered a hot duck dish, the kitchen sent a query back asking if she would prefer the chilli to be removed, which she did- she was also the first to be served. The waiters accorded her the utmost respect which we all appreciated as our beloved mater familias.

We were not pestered by over solicitous staff but they came immediately upon request, though it was quiet.

The food was delicious and not over seasoned nor with excess use of MSG. The prices are not bargain but quality costs and I can personally heartily recommend the delicate egg noodle basket with scallops, squid and king prawns (£11.50 w/o rice). The base of the noodle basket becomes unctuous with the cooking liquor- a real delight to eat with your hands at the end!

The only gripe I might have is that two baskets of complimentary prawn crackers seems a little stingy for such a large group and most Chinese restaurants we visit nowadays offer complimentary green tea throughout the meal. Flowers on the table would've been a nice touch and bearing in mind they offered some Thai dishes, perhaps Orchids?

It is situated opposite the old King Charles I Grammar school, and to emerge from the restaurant and see the old prefect tower (bad memories) sent chills up my spine- but thankfully that is hidden from view within the premises, so my appetite was unaffected.

Otherwise though not by any means a bargain nor a 'socks blown off' experience, this was VFM and a quality time was had by all.

Recommended as a safe treat.

Dedicated car park at the rear.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCLPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not the best but ok”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went for partners birthday meal. Food was expensive and small portions but it was nice and tasty. Had to wait over 20 minutes between starters and main as it was so busy so they could do with faster service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bevyk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Lodge also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to China Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing