We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chip shop”
Review of Cookley Fisheries

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cookley Fisheries
Ranked #39 of 123 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Kidderminster
2 reviews
“Best chip shop”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Chip is very nice always good food I am local use this shop all the time very good price and good portion

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harwinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have not been to this chippie for some years and came across the reviews on Trip Advisor whilst looking for another restaurant. After reading that they were "the best in the Midlands" we decided to give them a try. What a disappointment........soggy tasteless chips and the fish was not much better......most of this meal went in the bin. If these are the best i will give up fish and chips forever!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shadebathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frequently Inedible Chips”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We are unfortunate enough that this is our local chip shop. The food is very hit & miss here but more often than not it is simply inedible. Very occasionally you strike it lucky and get something passable but do not bank on it. Chips both battered and plain leave an unpleasant greasy coating on the mouth and generally do not sit well on the stomach. Battered chips are a bright un-natural orange colour as is the curry sauce which tastes & looks vile not at all like standard chip shop curry sauce. Many people tend to go out of the village rather than eat here. I don't understand the rave reviews for this place, many of the "locals" find it bemusing too.
That said, portion sizes are good and the prices are fair. I think it just depends if you are lucky enough to catch them on a good day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LoveMeDo130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I call here every Friday evening and have no need for complaint what's so ever fish cooked to order if you want something special,
very friendly people and nothing to much trouble. well done cookley fisheries

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gnta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Chips In the Midlands”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Battered Chips with everything!! Southern fried chicken to die for.Staff are friendly and welcoming.We use this chip shop often and friends from out of the area make a detour to use the great Cookley Fisheries.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bardavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cookley Fisheries also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Cookley Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing