We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day trip”

Severn Valley railway
Ranked #13 of 125 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mother's Day trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We decided to all go on here for Mother's Day with the three grand daughters they loved it just like their grandma I'm obsessed with trains lol loved the journey and the conductress were very friendly very good day was had by all

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cazzy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    25
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marlborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On the 23rd of June, three of us ventured to the above railway. It's almost an annual pilgrimage. We caught a train from Kidderminster to Highley, that is where a problem started. We were hauled by a diesel, the windows of the carriage were open, this abortion of an engine filled the carriage with blue smoke and fumes, so much for H & S. We had lunch at Highley which was most pleasant, then took a steamer to Bridgnorth, that was more like it. On the way back to Kidderminster, we had that abortion again and it produced the filthy smoke and fumes once again. I spoke to someone on the railway who knew only too well what the engine was like but couldn't do much about it. The railway needs to do something about this engine, I suggest a scrapyard. My advice would be to anyone going on the railway is to give this diesel a wide berth and wait for a real engine, a steamer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bd23-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out. Scenery spectacular.... Highly recommend”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've been coming to the Severn Valley Railway for forty years and every time I come I feel happy. For my dads 75th birthday we booked afternoon tea for 7 of us. We weren't disappointed. The food was fresh and delicious and we enjoyed tea and wine too. The staff were attentive and were quick to top up empty cups or glasses and very friendly to my children, making them feel at ease.
If you're coming for a ride on the train or a meal it's all worth it. Beautiful surroundings and be sure to stop off at all of the stations and have a look around. Each one has something different to offer and if you have younger children the Santa specials are brilliant. I've been bringing my children to see Santa for 13 years but I fear last year was possibly for the last time as my youngest is ten now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely scenery, great trains and, for me, the best UK preserved railway. The engine room display is also worth a visit. Shame we are not allowed around the Bridgnorth sheds like in earlier days

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank icegoldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Santa Visit 2013”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We took our little boy to see santa and had an amazing day. The whole event was very well organise and the stations we're decorated beautiful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kellib_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Severn Valley railway also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Severn Valley railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing