We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting addition to Kidderminster pub life!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Weavers Real Ale House

The Weavers Real Ale House
Ranked #24 of 117 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Cuisines: Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An interesting addition to Kidderminster pub life!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This new pub has made the best of unpub-like premises. Very basic and good value foods (A shame the homemade pork pies are no more), however, an interesting range of beers and ciders (Don't come here if you like lager!) in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabfuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Real Ale Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This cozy little bar close to Kidderminster Station has recently opened and is clearly tapping into a thriving market. There is a clear sign which informs customers, no lager, no spirits and what you get is quality real ales and ciders and I understand from my other half a decent glass of wine as well. This would never get awards for high end Michelin standard service, what you get is a good honest bar with friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Niche marketing is always a good idea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have to say that this is a brave concept for this area, and I have to admire the owners for having the foresight and tenacity.

The outlet is small but large enough for a good small business to survive. The concept of tradition is to be applauded and will rely upon the excellence of the product for sale. The resurgence in real ale is good for sure, but will it bring in enough to pay the bills; I hope so.

This outlet offered 4 ales and 2 ciders, at very reasonable prices. The ambience is like going back 40 years (hooray!), no Juke Box, Gaming machines or TV; that's great.

The clientèle, therefore, will likely be the more discerning, maybe the older person not drinking 10 pints of "boy's beer" and putting cash in the till. Tempting to go there, but it's just one fight after another, so have courage and stay with your principle.

It is in direct competition to the King and Castle, which has had a few years head start, but competition is good.

I will definitely revisit, but can I offer some advice to the owners? Having smokers lighting up outside your front door will only damage your trade; it will never enhance it. You need to do something positive about it now!

Good luck!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“REAL ALE IN KIDDERMINSTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Weavers real Ale House is located in the former Polonia Resturant, halfway up Comberton Hill, in Kidderminster, within a minute or two walk down the hill from the Severn Valley Railway Station.
It is more a bar as in the continental model. One room with the usual offices, with seating for around 20 - 30 people.
For me the main attractions were a selection of Real Ales from the smaller independent breweries, the lack of music and fruit machines.
Cobs, pork pie, both served with salad were the only food offerings. We tried one of each and were pleasantly surprised at the freshness and quality. Tea & cakes are also served, cake looked nice but we did not try having sufficed on the cobs & pie.
Well worth a visit, we visited at lunch time.
Prices very reasonable!
We shall return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bawoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Weavers Real Ale House also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Weavers Real Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing