We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Fantastic stay,we received a free stay and had a choice of hotel,we are so pleased we chose this one.
Perfect location for our trip,service was excellent,Daniel at the front desk was very helpfull and polite.
The room we were allocated was really nice and quiet and well furnished and we slept soundly.
The lady in the breakfast room(sorry did'nt get her name was also great and chatty)
We would highly recommend this hotel and would return..
ps the breakfast is fantastic..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrinklowSello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Many thanks for your compliments!!! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team helpful. Please do visit again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

stayed on a Monday night,booking in was easy,room was excellent,evening meal was well priced & the meals we had where very good.
the only draw-back for us was the self-service breakfast which never tastes as good as the freshly cooked to order one,but this is only our personal taste
other-wise a nice place to stay at.

Room Tip: we had room 17--two floors up,but very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

We’re really happy your stay was enjoyable. Our team constantly strive for excellence so it’s great to know our services were met with satisfaction. We apologise breakfast was not to your taste but we have found that a self-service buffet is what works best for the majority of our guests. Our breakfast service is constantly tweaked however, so please do come test us out again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Ideally situated for visiting family and sightseeing - Severn Valley Railway, Bewdley, Stourport and Ironbridge. Room pleasantly warm, comfortable bed, decent shower and very clean. No noise disturbance despite disco party on Saturday evening! Good selection of food at Breakfast but tea in an insulated dispenser is not ideal - though fruit teas are available and freshly brewed. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarplum48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Glad to hear you appreciated our unique location, there really is a wealth of fantastic days out nearby! Since you stayed, and as a result of your comments, we’ve actually replaced the insulated dispensers with large tea & coffee pots, so please don’t let this taint an otherwise seemingly excellent stay. Please do come see us again soon, we’ll be delighted to welcome you back and look forward to our new tea & coffee pots getting your personal seal of approval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting the safari park for which this hotel is ideally situated.

All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful - they seemed really interested in us and how we'd enjoyed our day at the park.

The rooms might be standard, but are clean and well equipped, with everything working properly. The bar is nicely laid out (and least during our stay) quiet. The free wi-fi worked flawlessly.

The breakfast service is probably the best I've ever had in a hotel - it might not be waiter service, but this is a breakfast buffet done properly.

I had a very tough steak at an evening meal - I was impressed at an immediate offer to reduce the price of my meal.

If we ever need a hotel in this area again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked the West Midland Safari Park package and stayed for one night with our two young children and baby. The room was pretty standard, nothing exciting, but did the job and was in the right location. The same could be said for breakfast; the quality and choice of food was decent, but not spectacular. The quality of service and attitude of the staff however, exceeded expectations. Everyone we met was very polite and helpful, the receptionist was particularly helpful when we checked in, even phoning the safari park to find answers to our questions. In addition the staff at breakfast were really friendly they quickly welcomed us and found us a highchair and I also observed them going out of their way to help an older lady at another table. Generally I got the impression that they enjoyed working there and that the place was well run. Overall, I'd definitely use the hotel again if I had reason to, it was a positive stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We decided to make a surprise trip to family and went on Lastminute.com and booked ourselves into the Gainsborough Hotel, Kidderminster. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone the Staff are very friendly and attentive the rooms are well appointed, clean and the beds are a dream. The Breakfast is amazing with so much choice and the cooked breakfast is pipping hot and so tasty. We will definitely be back and for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights staff very helpful & friendly. Breakfast & dinner very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
1,009 reviews
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
452 reviews
3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing