We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding day”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We held our wedding at the Gainsborough on the 28th September 2013 and it was a fab day everything from the time I arrived to get ready to the time we left on the Sunday was perfect nothing was to much trouble for the staff and Jill the wedding co ordinator was brill, all the guest commented what a great day they had, how great the food was and how clean the hotel is would recommend this hotel. thankyou again for a great wedding day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsjonajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    171
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
78
246
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Not the best eating experience in the world. Had to wait at the bar for stale sandwiches with no offer of them bringing it to the table and the coffee was self-served tepid from a flask on the bar. Won't be coming here gain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We held our wedding reception here on 27th September 2013, everything went without a hitch, fantastic rooms to stay in, spacious function room laid out beautifully, with chair covers and swags, very good waiting and bar service, good quality food, and excellent service from Dan, who worked reception and sorted out our music for our reception, very special thanks to viv who endlessly met all our needs, before and during our wedding, she always went the extra mile to make our day so perfect, we had the Gainsborough summer package deal and found it excellent value for money, from the breakfast buffet, wedding breakfast, through to the evening buffet the Gainsborough have very good quality and from the chamber maids through to front of house every member of staff we saw or spoke to were fantastic, we will definitely recommend others to use the Gainsborough .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We got married here in 2012 which was extremely well organised with great communication from start to finish, we really were well looked after.
As a celebration for our first anniversary we decided to go back and reminisce a year on.
I sent an email to jill, who managed (at very short notice) to get us the same honeymoon suite we had last year at a great price, she also booked us into the restaurant and we took up the great "2courses for £11 offer), all the staff were helpful and courteous, and our room was impeccably clean. If you get the chance, the suite (44) is gorgeous with a beautiful 4 poster bed.
Anyway, the 2nd time round didn't disappoint and we are going to continue the tradition of staying here every anniversary.
Thankyou Jill & the team xxx

Room Tip: suite 44 is just fab !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel on 22nd September 2013 - we were absolutely delighted with the whole day. Everyone at our reception commented on how fantastic the food was. We opted for a carvery and was the best choice we could have made the beef and turkey were cooked to perfection and there was more than enough for everyone. The day ran smoothly without any glitches mainly due to a lot of hard work and coordination from Viv, the wedding coordinator. We could not have asked for a better service, the staff were friendly and helpful throughout the whole day and night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights on a coach holiday. The hotel staff were all very helpfull and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very nice and everthing was spotless clean and towels were changed every day. The food in the restaurant was very good both at breakfast and in the evening. We would have no problems in recommending this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From start to finish our wedding was perfect.
Wedding planning - We had several meetings with our wedding planner to make sure all details were covered. I had asked if our guests could be given a choice for each course, this request was met with a definite yes and options were provided. We made our own centre pieces and I wanted to try them out on the tables, so arranged a visit and our wedding planner fully set up a table just so I could see how it all looked.
Wedding Day. Everything was well organised and well set up as planned. The room looked amazing. The meal was perfect - hot, well served and presented and tasty. All dietary requirements were also catered for.
There is a little garden area at the side of the hotel that allows for photos, but access is a little difficult up four or five steps, especially in a wedding dress.
Evening reception. We had a cold buffet. There was plenty to eat and again tasty and well presented.
Staff - Exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and all were friendly and polite through-out.
Accommodation - We had one of the bridal suites. The bed had been scattered with rose petals which was very pretty. The room was clean and the bathroom also spotless. Did have air con, but not needed on this stay.
Night time a little noisy as you can hear others in the hotel landing/function rooms etc if they are a little vocal.
There is also plenty of parking here with at least 2+ designated disabled bays if required.
I would highly recommend this venue be considered for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
390 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Property: Gainsborough House Hotel
Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing