We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We took two friends to stay at one of the local hotels as a treat to ourselves, and if we were ever asked to recommend an Hotel local to Kidderminster then we could do so with confidence.

This hotel did not disappoint, the receptionist was friendly, humorous and efficient.
The rooms are clean and well appointed with very good en-suite facilities.
I personally do not like to have television in an hotel bar. Neither do I like a 'One arm Bandit' in a Reception area, but I know others that do so.
Breakfast served from 8-00am - 10am is self service with a good choice of starters and a full English is offered, so that you can have as much of each item as you wish, the only downside for us was that scrambled egg was the only egg dish available. A continental alternative breakfast is also available, and a vegetarian option if you prefer..
I would have liked to see a bowl of sugar next to the cereals instead of finger packets of sugar at the table,
If you are in town stay at the Gainsborough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Clean room, modern decor, breakfast buffet was good quality and good value. The lounge/bar and restaurant had a good modern, chic atmosphere. The main reception had a slot machine in it which I thought out of place and lowered the tone (perhaps move it to the bar area?).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is nicely decorated with comfortable surroundings. All the staff were amiable and the food was very good. The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and given the choice I would prefer fresh cooked. The room was comfortable. No complaints, would stop here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Shacks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We attended an event at the Gainsborough and had a lovely evening. On arrival, there is plenty of parking - reception looks a bit dated but when we went to our room we were very pleased. Very clean and fresh with a comfortable bed.(No disguised toilet smells, all very clean).
We had a good evening in the events room and breakfast was lovely; with pleasant ladies serving and nothing seemed too much trouble to them.
I left my apple plug and charger and was thrilled to hear that they had found and kept it for me. I now have it safely returned. Thank you Gainsborough. We would recommend you to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutmegdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2012 whilst visiting family and decided to stay again in 2013 as our experience had been good. The hotel is in a fairly central location and there is plenty of parking space. We arrived early and were surprised to find that our room was ready so we checked in. Our room was clean and comfortable and had recently been decorated (just a slight whiff of paint, but nothing to be concerned about). There were extra pillows, nice toiletries and extras that you may not normally find in a hotel in this price range - tea making, ironing board etc. The heating was very effective and the bed comfy. The staff were very helpful, storing things for us that we didn't want to leave in our car or take up to the room. We had a good night's sleep, even though there was a wedding party there, and a hearty breakfast the next morning. I certainly would recommend the hotel if you need somewhere to stay in Kidderminster.

Room Tip: If there is a function on try to get a room on the second floor away from the function room, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We travelled from Nottingham to join my sister and brother-in-law at the New Year's Eve party. The evening far exceeded our expectations. The whole evening was superb, the meal, the entertainment, the people. We also stayed the night at the hotel, the room was clean the bed was comfortable and the breakfast next morning was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There was no lift only stair lift to two floors so if you are disabled or have trouble climbing stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My mother in law and I came here on 18th Dec on a coach trip from Birmingham for a Christmas party. This is our 4th year coming to different place every year. This was by far the very best of a good selection of places. The food was superb and lovely and hot. The staff were so professional, helpful and unobtrusive. We had an entertainer Richard Comfort who sang a wide range of different types of songs. He was absolutely brilliant and rounded the day off perfectly. We even bought his cd!! Well done Star Coaches for choosing such a gem of a place, it made our Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiebooBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: £62 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing