We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfotable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfotable stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel was welcoming, very clean with cheerful and helpful staff, it has plenty of free parking ,
the restaurant had a good selection of reasonably priced and well cooked meals and it supplied a good buffet style breakfast If we are back in the area we w3ill return

Room Tip: the rooms at the front seemed to be the quietist
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    171
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
78
246
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I had a single night stop here and had every thing I expected from the hotel. I could not find a power socket by the bed but that was a small issue. Due to personal circumstances I had to check out early before the restaurant opened for breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank StevieB3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend were very impressed with the hotels interior design and clear highly maintained condition however if only one thing was bad then that was the shower as it was like a trickling tap, whether it was the water pressure or bad piping I am not sure but I did mention it to the receptionist. Anyway I was delighted with the room service I ordered Tuscan salmon with pan fried potatos and mixed salad it didn't take long to be served and the two staff were ever so polite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

From the offset this hotel exceeded our expectations and continued to do so for the whole stay! Great size rooms with everything you could need. Bar and restaurant area are great and the breakfast was superb - variety and quality (best mushrooms I've ever had)! We used the hotel as a base for a trip to the West Midlands Safari Park which is within spitting distance. Very helpful and professional staff advised we could buy discounted tickets from them which was an added bonus. It's rare you get more than you expect - but we definitely did at this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaH-T2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
droitwich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful , we stayed for a valentine evening which doubled up as our honeymoon , we were upgraded to a suite no 45 and it was beautiful , the four course meal was beautiful and all the staff were friendly and very helpful will stop again defiantly thanks guys amazing hotel xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claireandtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Gainsborough House Hotel is lovely. Iv stayed there twice an will defiantly going back, in fact we're booked in for the Champagne package in March. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. It's a shame we don't live nearer because we would be visiting alot more :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aharte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We took two friends to stay at one of the local hotels as a treat to ourselves, and if we were ever asked to recommend an Hotel local to Kidderminster then we could do so with confidence.

This hotel did not disappoint, the receptionist was friendly, humorous and efficient.
The rooms are clean and well appointed with very good en-suite facilities.
I personally do not like to have television in an hotel bar. Neither do I like a 'One arm Bandit' in a Reception area, but I know others that do so.
Breakfast served from 8-00am - 10am is self service with a good choice of starters and a full English is offered, so that you can have as much of each item as you wish, the only downside for us was that scrambled egg was the only egg dish available. A continental alternative breakfast is also available, and a vegetarian option if you prefer..
I would have liked to see a bowl of sugar next to the cereals instead of finger packets of sugar at the table,
If you are in town stay at the Gainsborough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
390 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Property: Gainsborough House Hotel
Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing