We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice attractive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel is lovely. We had a fine room and the staff, particularly reception and our waiter, were efficient, friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately the restaurant was not so good.I expect table cloths when dining; especially as we booked the Romance Package! It smacked of cafe not restaurant. The rib-eye was overcooked and was sent back. Our waiter,however, sorted it and the whole dish was re-done.
I would stay again if my, constructive, comments are taken on board.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Gainsborough House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We needed a hotel for a few days and normally wouldn't stay in a three star but given the other reviews though we'd give it a try, we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, very clean and had it's own air conditioning. Breakfast was plentiful, plenty of car parking space and the staff were very pleasant. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again or to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SSudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed overnight supporting John O'Groats to LandsEnd cycle. Had Friday night curry, very good for hotel. Room comfy. Good breakfast next morning before leaving. No complaints, good service and good value for money particularly family room with breakfast for 4. Would definitely stay again if out this way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank StephenCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

stopped at this hotel and was very impressed
staff very good and helpful
location good for the severn valley railway and surrounding beautiful areas
asked for a quiet room which we received the room was a good size and very clean
excellent food
would definitely stay again
well done to the hotel they deserve a good reveiw

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 449felicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We needed accommodation in Kidderminster itself but not knowing the town at all we looked at Trip Advisor to see that limited service lodge type hotels took the top two spots with Gainsborough House trailing in third. However, on of the lodges was quoting over £100 for a 1 night weekend stay and the other we know from experience elsewhere is the hotel equivalent of Ryanair - reliable but definitely no frills. Therefore took a gamble and booked Gainsborough House. Maybe, therefore, our expectations were not particularly high but when we checked out we left knowing we had received excellent value for money. Our room on the second floor was quite large with housekeeping standards that would be the envy of many a hotel with a higher star rating. The room was at the back of the hotel (overlooking a garden). It proved to be very quiet and the comfortable bed ensure we had a very good night's sleep.

Breakfast is all self-help but contained the essentials. It is no lavish buffet that would grace a five star hotel but, again, we were paying far less than five star prices.

When we returned back to the hotel later in the evening there was a function taking place in their function room (a 21st party?) but this caused no disturbance where our room was located.

There is free wi-fi (albeit a bit on the slow side) and the room is equipped with a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. In addition there is plenty of parking. The hotel is approx 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre of Kidderminster.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I really can't say enough about how impressed we were. We held our wedding reception here on Saturday 21st June and the whole day was perfect. Orchestrated to perfection by Jill and her staff, they really did us proud. Even though we were somewhat "late" in our arrangements, Jill guided us painlessly and effectively through the whole process from start to finish and we had nothing to get stressed about. The food at the Wedding Breakfast was exceptional and the tables laid out in the Bewdley Suite were breath-taking. The wedding suite was a very nice room as well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't usually stay in a 3* hotel but had a free night from insurance booking! Was very pleasantly surprised, I think they are now aiming for 4* rating though as lots of decorating/new furnishings obviously still in process of being fitted. Breakfast great value for money at £5.95 per person all you can eat hot and cold. Bed extremely comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Samsamblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
3.0 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
405 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: £60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing