We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally unpleasant and bad value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsborough House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Not sure why this place has good reviews - I stayed here for a wedding this past weekend and everyone in our party (which was large) thought the hotel was awful. We had a disco going on underneath our room until 1.30am both nights and didn't have our room cleaned/towels changed at all. The room itself smelt dirty the moment we opened the door and the decor was horrible; the crockery in the room had also clearly been used and not washed. I found the whole experience really unpleasant - the staff at breakfast were rude and unhelpful and the breakfast itself of very poor quality. The fresh orange juice, for example, resembled something like sunny delight or a very concentrated orange squash. It wasn't worth a fraction of the £80 per night we paid and I would never go back. The poor lady on the front desk was very nice though - it seemed like a miserable place to work.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

Excellent value for money. Large free car park. Rooms to a high standard, with comfortable beds and large bathroom. Excellent all you can eat buffet style breakfast served 7am-9am Mon-Fri. Staff fairly helpful throughout. Bar and restaurant available with room service. Located just a few minutes from Kidderminster town centre by car.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed here for one night on 28th August and took advantage of the hotel's deal of a family room and tickets for the West Midlands Safari Park for £120.

It turned out to be a cracking deal!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The room was perfect with lovely comfortable beds the staff were friendly and welcoming and the full english breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice (the fresh croissants were scrumptious!)

If you are planning on a visit to West Midlands Safari Park and are thinking of staying overnight, then the Gainsborough House Hotel is for you. It is literally just a mile from the Safari Park.

In fact the £120 deal may be the best value deal of its kind in the UK!

We look forward to returning next year

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carffion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I would reccomend this hotel, its really nice and the staff are friendly and smartly dressed, the rooms are very clean, cleaned every day, widescreen tv with freeview, i really liked this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bananabonanza09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The room was a nice size, with clean bathroom, flat-screen TV and large comfy bed. The decor is good. The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special in my opinion - cooked or continental. The hotel is not that central and a taxi cost about £5 to central Kiddy. The staff are friendly and professional. There was a wedding on when we were there. It was busy and noisy, but the weddings do not last into the wee hours.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My wife and I had a 4 night stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room clean and comfortable. We booked B&B but ate in most evenings as the choice of dishes was good and prices reasonable. Also liked the free Wifi and choice of channels on flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Boutique rooms with everthing you need for overnight stay. Satisfactory breakfast but staff had difficulty preparing my bill. Look out for deals.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyglebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
440 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster
Gainsborough House Hotel Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing