We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, Great restaurant, Superb views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked and stayed here for a night just before a mates wedding which we traveled to the midlands for. We were a bit skeptical really.

But on arrival the check in was great, shown to our room. The room had a nice double bed, modern bathroom, TV, kettle & biscuits and great views out over their on site vegetable garden and beyond to the beautiful rolling countryside.

We booked for dinner in the restaurant, the food was very good - verging on great but just missed the mark for us as it was over priced. But for a romantic night in a decent hotel we were happy to part with the cash. The fish menu was extensive and apparently the chef visits the fish market daily to get supplies. Wine was good but again slightly over priced.

The breakfast was great, more than great, a proper full English breakfast with all you could ask for. The service for breakfast was a wee bit long, but this was due to it being a Saturday morning and they had a wedding so i think the staff were more focused on that rather than breakfast.

Checkout was quick and easy - although a bit hard on the wallet, but that's because we treated ourselves.

The location is a little bit out of the way - but this made its perfectly peaceful.

Overall we had a great night here, almost well worth the money. I just think that for the prices charged a little more attention to detail would be required. I am not complaining at all just being constructive!! (I hope).

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay as enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donal_sharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

Great little place to stop overnight, located really close to Kidderminster but out of the way enough to feel like you are still in the countryside. On a busy road but didn't hear any traffic noise from the room.

Room comfortable and functional - shower not as powerful as I would like but overall great value for money. The biggest thing about this place is the service, from arrival to departure the young lady on reception was brilliant, very welcoming and very helpful. Even phoning the room to see if I wanted dinner. It was a shame I didn't have a chance to sample the restaurant as I have heard a lot of good things about it.

Breakfast was really good, again with really helpful happy staff. Check out was easy and parking is plentiful. I will definately be staying here again when I return on business.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just spent the weekend at the Granary for my brothers wedding. The rooms are spacious and clean, had more than enough room in for me, my husband, our 22 month old son who was in a large cot (provided) and our dog. The flat screen TV was excellent and there were good tea making facilities. The breakfast was excellent.

The wedding reception was well organised and the food was excellent. The staff worked hard and provided an excellent service. The grounds and gardens aren't overly large but very picturesque for photographs.

A lovely hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 are suites, well worth extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed two nights 16th to 18th June 2011. Room was clean and reasonably comfortable, bed mattress could have been more comfortable though. The presentation and standard of food could only be described as first class. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming. Would recommend and visit again

Room Tip: Maybe go for an upgraded room on next visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stopped here on a business trip and found the room to be clean and tidy. The food was excellent and the service was good.

The only issue was that I could not get the shower to work.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We wanted to meet some friends for a meal, and the Granary is about halfway, so is ideal.
Although lacking in atmosphere in the dining room, the food is superb. The portions are perfectly sized to fill you up, but not uncomfortably, and show great imagination and flavour. You are not rushed, and the service is great as well.
We will be eating here again, and again, and again.............

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

this is the worst restaurant we have ever been to, the waiter dropped a drink all over my husbands trousers and didn't even apologise, we had to wait for half an hour after our booked time to sit at our table which when we got to it was right next to a window, the windowsills were filthy and had cobwebson them so they couldn't have been cleaned in a long time!, the food was horrible i had crab it was just mush and didn't taste fresh so after that we just couldn't wait to leave, and to top it all we were overcharged, the women at reception didn't have a clue about the menu prices and we had to tell them that the price was written on the board we shouldn't have had to tell them the prices!! idiots!!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TINKERBELLE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegranary, Manager at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I am only sorry that your experience was not a good one. We make a point of encouraging our guests to communicate at the time if there is anything they are not happy with and we always make a point of acting promptly to put it right. We also encourage guests to feedback via a link on our website as well. We also always record any comments from dissatisfied customers at the time to ensure that nothing gets "swept under the carpet"

We would never claim to be perfect and beyond reproach, but the AA have very recently given us a very thorough inspection both for the 2 AA Rosette award and for the hotel as a whole. Their conclusion was a confirmation of the Rosette award and an increase in percentage terms to 80%.

Naturally it is very disappointing to get your commentary in the light of this. We are unsure of exactly when you visited and assumed you stayed overnight being based in Oakham. If you could let us know when you stayed /visited, It would enable us to talk to the staff involved and give guidance for any learning/training. We would also be happy to offer you a complimentary voucher to see if we can redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
3 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
446 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
699 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Hartlebury
Travelodge Hartlebury
#1 of 1 in Hartlebury
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granary Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Heath Lane, Kidderminster DY10 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granary Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary Hotel is a modern and privately owned with 16 refurbished en suite bedrooms, a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, a luxurious new Restaurant Bar and Function suites for Weddings and Conferences for up to 200 guests. All bedrooms have Flat Screen TV with Freeview, complimentary Wifi , Tea and Coffee making facilities and modern bathrooms with bath and overhead shower. There is plenty of Free parking with good access as the property is mainly on ground floor level.The property is in a rural location near to the Motorway system and is a perfect base for touring the beautiful Worcestershire countryside and the rich industrial heritage of the West Midlands including the Black Country Living Museum, the Severn Valley Railway and the Ironbridge Gorge Museum. Worcester cathedral and the glorious Malvern Hills are nearby.The well established Restaurant serves a very popular Carvery menu at lunchtime whilst in the evening an A la Carte and Set Dinner menu is available with a particular emphasis on Fresh Fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granary Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granary Hotel Kidderminster
The Granary Hotel And Restaurant Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing