We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding ceremony and reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding ceremony and reception”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recently got married here and it is absolute perfect wedding venue.

Room looks amazing when dressed, and gardens make perfect backdrop for wedding photos.

Accommodation was lovely, honeymoon suite was beautiful, with big four poster bed and separate dressing area. We booked most of the rooms for our guests and they were all more than happy with the standard rooms.

Food was amazing there, everyone enjoyed all courses and the service from the staff was unbeatable.

Cannot thank the staff enough for making our day perfect.

Will definitely be returning here for many year to come.
Will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    129
    61
    26
    15
See reviews for
101
214
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just returned from another meal at the Granary. Today was a lovely carvery lunch and this is very good value,especially with the 'pensioners' special price. Two weeks ago we celebrated my husband's Birthday with a pleasant evening meal and again, were made to feel welcome and the service is excellent.

We have not stayed overnight in the hotel yet, but it would seem to be good value with an evening meal, perhaps for a special occasion, if not wanting to drive, particularly during winter weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gib73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was real experience. Very very good meal, brilliant atmosphere and excellent service. We did not expect much when for the first time we stayed at the granary hotel. In the evening we decided to have something to eat at the local restaurant. We could not expect such a treat. It was cooked to perfection. Honestly, the best meal we have ever had in our life.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having walked out of a hotel (sic) in which my wife and I were to stay for a couple of days, we found The Granary. I am very surprised at the negative reviews recently published on this hotel. The receptionist was just brilliant and the accommodation superb (although there was a small problem with the bathroom door which I did bring to Management's attention). On the second night we invited friends to dine with us in the hotel Restaurant. The restaurant staff were extremely efficient and the dishes we all chose were well cooked and well presented. We will hopefully be returning to Kidderminster in a year's time and will certainly visit the hotel and restaurant again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0707David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This review only covers the restaurant since we ate but did not stay here.
Why is it whenever you take friends to a restaurant that you have previously enjoyed the restaurant so often fails to deliver in line with previous experience? Such was the case with our recent visit to the Granary.
We were pleasantly greeted and seated and proceeded to order. The food did not follow for an hour! whilst we did enjoy the time to catch up and chat we were a tad restive by the time the food finally arrived.
I had ordered lamb which was supposed to be presented two ways - one was a confit of shoulder. Reader it disappoints me to have to tell you that this supposedly meltingly delicious dish was in fact as tough as proverbial old shoe leather. Everything else on the plate was lovely but this was barely edible.
When I had the temerity to raise the matter with the waiter, he first questioned my judgment and then consulted the other lamb eating member of our party. She too had found the confit inedible but as she was our guest she hadn't wanted to spoil the evening by raising a complaint.
I do feel the waiter mismanaged this somewhat, by cross questioning an already unhappy diner. Deserts took a further 30 minutes to arrive, by which time the evening had lost its lustre for both myself & my guests.
In summary it was attitude and lack of service that let the Granary down. With the exception of the tough lamb the food was good. It was the interminable wait to be served and the high handed manner in which I was treated when I raised the issue of the substandard element that has caused me to rate the Granary poorly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Had to think about the review as the hotel itself is tired and needs an upgrade.
Tatty rooms, outdated bathroom,and just generally leaves a lot to desired.

Restaurant was good though both for breakfast and dinner.

Have to say the staff are really nice and friendly though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for writing in - points taken. We are in the process of a fairly ambitious refurbishment programme and the benefits will become apparent over the next few months. Re investment is a continuous and ongoing commitment. Bear with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Second visit to this establishment but first review.
Only went for a meal and can't judge the hotel. I attended as part of a family meal for six people and having had a good experience previously I was looking forward to a repeat.
Unfortunately the hotel must have had one of those nights where we were concerned.
The maître di seemed confused when we didn't want starters and was immediately advising us of a long wait as the chef wouldn't be expecting to cook mains so early.
One hour from ordering to first course was a little protracted and when it arrived one meal was not as requested and even after being recooked was still unsatisfactory.
My pork meal was average and my partners lamb dish was scarcely much better.
But hey ho sweet could only improve things but please tell me that the granary doesnt really serve peach Melba with squirty cream @ six quid a go--------pleeaase!!!!!!!!!!!
Other sweets went down better but I can serve a cheese board and fresh fruit without too many complaints.
All in all not brilliant , we were offered a refund for one meal which is fair enough but the maître di who made mistakes with our initial order was quick to apologise and blame the other members of staff. Nice enough bloke but no back bone
Overall a terrible let down but one good followed by one bad doesn't mean I write the hotel off but you can only review on the experience you get.
If the management are reading this please take note as I will return at some stage and hope for an experience more akin to my first visit which was a rather delightful one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review. It was well thought out and documented. I could give it spin in reply - but this is not our style.
We will run through the points raised with those involved ; learn and apply this to help improve. Please do come back and see how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
3.0 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
636 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granary Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Heath Lane, Kidderminster DY10 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granary Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary Hotel is a modern and privately owned with 16 refurbished en suite bedrooms, a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, a luxurious new Restaurant Bar and Function suites for Weddings and Conferences for up to 200 guests. All bedrooms have Flat Screen TV with Freeview, complimentary Wifi , Tea and Coffee making facilities and modern bathrooms with bath and overhead shower. There is plenty of Free parking with good access as the property is mainly on ground floor level.The property is in a rural location near to the Motorway system and is a perfect base for touring the beautiful Worcestershire countryside and the rich industrial heritage of the West Midlands including the Black Country Living Museum, the Severn Valley Railway and the Ironbridge Gorge Museum. Worcester cathedral and the glorious Malvern Hills are nearby.The well established Restaurant serves a very popular Carvery menu at lunchtime whilst in the evening an A la Carte and Set Dinner menu is available with a particular emphasis on Fresh Fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granary Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granary Hotel Kidderminster
The Granary Hotel And Restaurant Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing