We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a two night stay at this very friendly, very well run hotel. All the rooms are on the ground floor which means no noisy stilettoes stomping overhead in the early hours of the morning! It is ideal for dogs - no stairs to climb and the expanse of the garden area is an absolute delight with lovely far reaching views. The restaurant is excellent, the food perfect and very well presented. The front car parking area is well stocked with mature trees, which give perfect protection from the sun when one's dog has to stay in the car whilst we breakfast. We look forward to returning to the Granary - full marks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so very much for your kind words. They make the world of difference to the staff who work so hard. Come and see us again and take a look at how our vineyard is progressing. Not sure whether you saw it this time. It was planted about 4 weeks ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    135
    66
    26
    15
See reviews for
107
226
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Friends and I had an overnight stay. The food was excellent and well presented. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. The staff phoned several local taxis firms for us, so we got the best price, so we could get to Kidderminster station. I would certainly visit The Granary again. With the overnight stay, unfortunately there was a wedding party , with all bedrooms being on the ground floor it was very noisy until around 1.p.m. in the morning. Before I go again I would check to see what is going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly is difficult to balance out Weddings and Celebrations with people who are staying for other reasons. Thank you for being patient!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First time I have visited the granary hotel had a good deal through travelzoo .a tip make sure you have your voucher number with you if booked through this site. Rooms are a good standard and on one floor. Booked in the restaurant at 8 pm .had a drink in the bar very contemporary and a good atmosphere .staff very polite and the head waitress so good at her job top marks 10.sat down for meal food excellent, but no fish available, the restaurant was busy but the service was very good.stayed over night had a relaxing drink in the bar and a good night. Breakfast next morning head waitress was there to welcome us she was very pleasant and helpfull. We had a full English and it was cooked perfect , we enjoyed our stay at the granary and will be back 9 out of 10 .hope my comments help enjoy

Room Tip: The rooms are detached from the bar and restaurant all on ground floor and all are a very good stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a three course meal on Sunday afternoon to celebrate a birthday. Nice food, good service, nice atmosphere. The only problem is that there is nothing at all for children. There is no children's menu. There were no children's options offered at all (my three year old had to have a prawn cocktail, an adult carvery and a panna cotta)! Total waste of food and money. There are no toys, crayons, balloons offered. Nothing to do inside and nothing to do outside. Obviously children are not your target market but that doesn't mean you couldn't take some little steps to make them welcome when they do visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katelouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for writing in about this. I am glad the main "bits" were right and I take on board your commentary about children. We do have choices for children outside the main menu but but tend to make this subject to someone asking. We always provide children's meals and portions at weddings as well.
However I think you have a point and I will talk to the management this week with a view to perhaps enhancing this aspect especially on a Sunday which is such a family oriented day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I totally agree with the review from ‘Guru of Travel’. A bad experience overall and the first time I have ever left a restaurant feeling hungry.
Pre-dinner:
Had to ask to be served to drinks
Had to ask twice for the menu
Seating:
Eventually shown to a wobbly table for 8 in a cold annexe room
Heating only put on when we were being seated
Unused chairs stacked up in the corner of the room
Service:
Table booked for 7.30pm, arrived at 7.15pm and it was 8.30pm before first course was served
Other diners seated later were served before us
Complimentary breads served due to lateness – too late as starter had then been served
Two bottles of wine dumped on the table unopened with no attempt to serve
Coffee for two people (either side of the large table) dumped in the middle without being served
No waiter asked if everything was alright or if we were happy with the meal
Food:
Small, tasteless portions. An attempt at upmarket dining but without the quality
Expensive for what it was
Finally:
I had to go and ask for the bill
Waiters worked hard but were poorly trained and lacked experience
A birthday meal for a colleague was spoilt by such a poor dining experience

Room Tip: Restaurant experience only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadsak_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Oh dear. This is clearly not good enough. I am in the process of trying to find out what on earth happened and with whom. We work hard to manage situations well and to take criticism on the chin. It keeps us humble and means we are listening. There was clearly a systemic failure here - so please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just come back from a very enjoyable two night stay at The Granary Hotel. The food was excellent, great choice and all freshly cooked to order, certainly couldn't fault it in any way. Lovely friendly greeting when we arrived at reception and they were always very helpful. Rooms clean and very nice only thing they did lack the little touches like toiletries and paper hankies but that is just being picky really. Lovely patio, gardens with seating. Would certainly go back if we were in the area. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Uneven numbered rooms have the best views. All rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for your commentary - it is much appreciated. If you get a chance to come back, come and see how our vineyard is coming on. It was planted the week before your visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The whole experience was brilliant. Service, food etc we could not fault it. My husband and I had the set menu and the asparagus risotto and shoulder of lamb were both delicious. The lavender cheesecake was to die for. Would definitely recommend if you like your food experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at The Granary Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
This means such a lot to the Kitchen team who are a dedicated bunch who work very hard. Thank you for your kind comments . It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidderminster
3.0 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
484 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
647 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granary Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Heath Lane, Kidderminster DY10 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granary Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary Hotel is a modern and privately owned with 16 refurbished en suite bedrooms, a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, a luxurious new Restaurant Bar and Function suites for Weddings and Conferences for up to 200 guests. All bedrooms have Flat Screen TV with Freeview, complimentary Wifi , Tea and Coffee making facilities and modern bathrooms with bath and overhead shower. There is plenty of Free parking with good access as the property is mainly on ground floor level.The property is in a rural location near to the Motorway system and is a perfect base for touring the beautiful Worcestershire countryside and the rich industrial heritage of the West Midlands including the Black Country Living Museum, the Severn Valley Railway and the Ironbridge Gorge Museum. Worcester cathedral and the glorious Malvern Hills are nearby.The well established Restaurant serves a very popular Carvery menu at lunchtime whilst in the evening an A la Carte and Set Dinner menu is available with a particular emphasis on Fresh Fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granary Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granary Hotel Kidderminster
The Granary Hotel And Restaurant Kidderminster, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing