We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food & ambience”

Restaurant at The Granary
Ranked #19 of 125 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$84 - US$84
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & ambience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This was my 1st visit for a few years have moved away from the area. I wondered if it would be as good as I remembered, but it wasn't. It was even better.
The lamb was delightful and the lavender cheesecake was fantastic and uniquely yet beautifully served

I'll be back

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at Restaurant at The Granary, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your experience and thank you very much for taking the time to write in. It means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    57
    30
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a Hotel Dining Room a Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

With a seperate enterance to the hotel it is really a restaurant,this was our first visit to what is now called "The Kitchen". It was a trial visit as we had been told the restaurant had been refurbished and was worth a visit.We were not disapointed,there was a choice of a very reasonable fixed price menu & a la carte menu with many classic dishes,we went for Rack of Lamb & Lemon Sole from the a la carte menu. They were both cooked to perfection,the service was friendly and efficient with a nice bar area,we will return although we live some distance away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonwhitbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at Restaurant at The Granary, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It probably looks easy from the outside to roll out a final product ie.refurbishment plus new style menus etc - but it is not - and change often brings criticism . So your words are doubly appreciated. I will pass this on to Tom and the team. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime carvery”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The lunchtime carvery is excellent - a good selection of piping hot vegetables to accompany the meats. Vegetarian option can leave something to be desired. Selection of sweets and starters very good too. Pleasant atmosphere and very helpful and pleasant staff.

Unfortunately for us their evening menu does not live up to its promises as far as the food is concerned.. Portions are rather small and choices are limited. Overpriced too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizamelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at Restaurant at The Granary, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed the Carvery and hopefully the new Restaurant look that incorporates the Carvery units.
I suppose that there is a divergence in the Evening from the lunch offering and there is a difference in price. But choice has been increased and the Set Dinner menu has been targeted to give real quality and value at a fair price alongside the A la Carte. If you are in again soon take a look and see what you think.
Thank you very much for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for an 80th Birthday party and was delighted with the service we received, the menu and the food. We were a little concerned when we were asked to move out of the restaurant before coffee was served but we went into another lovely room at the rear of the premises and it was so much better as we could mingle with all the guests. An excellent touch for big parties

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at Restaurant at The Granary, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Really glad you enjoyed and that it suited the birthday party. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value Carvery”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Visited for the first time with friends for a Birthday treat. Amazed to see the restaurant full on...Tuesday lunchtime. Pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. Good choice of food from the Carvery. Well cooked meats and variety of vegetables. The desserts were delicious and complimentary coffee for us oldies was the icing on the cake!! Will certainly visit again. Recommend you book to ensure a table at this gem in the country.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank showcoachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granary000, Owner at Restaurant at The Granary, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Really glad you enjoyed it . Your commentary has been passed onto the team - who very much appreciate the feedback. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Granary also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Restaurant at The Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing