We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

came to stay at the hotel as it was local to my place of business. had a good stay . Evening meal was to die for dispite hotel looking very busy i didnt have to wait very long for my meal. evening staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble which was great. however itall goes down hill from then. i went to my room to have a nice hot bath and relax after a hard day and the bathroom was apauling. filth all round the taps and toilet. and my towel had a large hole in it. then went in to room. no remote for tv . The following morning when i finally got the attention of receptionist from eating her breakfast (im affaid i can only decribe her a a large lady with a welsh accent as no name tags are worn). i informed her of the state of room and asked if it would be possible to get fresh towels and a remote for tv.i was surprised that i want even asked for room number or even a sorry for the state. Later that day when i returned to my room it hadnt been touched, no fresh towels or remote. i called reception and was rudely informed by the same lady as the morning that they was short staffed and she would seen some towels up to me. an hour later. well aleast i had a nice meal and breakfast and in all the place and staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayla62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southcrest, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are sorry that we didnt meet your expectaion in some areas of the Hotel.

I am sorry ofr the delay in responding to this feedback.

We have looked at your comments and carried out corrective feedback with the team memebers that were not giving the service we promote.

I am sorry that we let you down , and i do hope that you try us again to see that this was a one of experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and please be assured we do act upon it.

Regards

Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

This was a real treat for us. Not knowing the town of Redditch very well, nor the surrounding area, we didn't know what it would be like... Southcrest Manor is the smartest, most luxurious and good value venue around. It has recently been done up, they told us, and it looks amazing. The restaurant and the menu was top class and the bar and wine list were excellent. The room we stayed in made us feel like royalty. I know there are more cost efficient rooms and we'll use these when we're there again for business but for a night away, total escapism and luxury... I can really recommend their rooms too. This place has everything you need, whatever you're looking for. We will definitely be going there again for a break away and definitely be using it for a superior rest stop on business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southcrest, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Once again thank you , as a team we are very greatfull for the feedback we recieve

Regards


Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

FANTASTIC !! Great Hotel nice rooms and even better staff...Nice good quality meals ! Very fair priced bar. Would recomend to anyone !! Specail thanks to Karen for lookind after us after a 5 week stay....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulsiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A recent family party was a great success here due to the professional and friendly staff and greatly helped by the recent refurbishment of public areas and manor house bedrooms.

The food was very good and ample supplies of all items we ordered - we are loyal users of the hotel and have held several recent events there and also sampled the new Sunday Lunch Menu - suberb!.

If you are wondering whether to book this venue you simply must - its a hidden gem
quiet and very good value for money.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank HilsRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsouthcresthotel, Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on trip advisor. We are so pleased that the function went well adn are greatfull for you taking the time to leave this on here.
We look forward to welcoming you back for the wedding
Regards
Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just held my wifes Birthday party here and had guests from all over the country. The refurb is superb and the party went with a swing. Everybody said how great the food was. couldn't have chosen a better venue. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsouthcresthotel, Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on here, we are very greatfull, the team was delighted to get this.
We are pleased you like the refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Regards
Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stayed at the hotel for one night on business and have to say that it is great to see that the new owners of this hotel have been so brave to bring this hotel back to life in these uncertain economic times. I stayed in a room in the old part of the building that appeared to have been recently refurbished, the room was smart and comfortable and had wide flat screen TV, a new bathroom and had lovely views of the grounds behind the hotel.

The staff were very friendly, both dinner and breakfast were good, the desserts were especially good and are definately worth a try. Drinks in the refurbished bar were priced very reasonably for a hotel. The owners are apparently still refurbishing parts of the hotel but I was not aware of any noise or disruption. If you want something better than a clinical budget hotel and at a reasonable price then I would give the Southcrest a try. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthWestTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsouthcresthotel, Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
I will pass your feedback onto the team.

Regards
Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This was our second visit to The Southcrest, we stayed for 3 nights in a newly refurbished room. The check in service was very good and efficient, the decor and ambience upon entering Hotel was very good and a total transformation. The reception, dining room and bar area are newly decorated and have new ceremic floor tiles and carpets throughout with beautiful chandeliers. The bedroom was very nice with co-ordinating furnishings, beautiful light fittings, reproduction furniture and tastefully decorated. The rooms are supplied with tea and coffee making facilities, water and hair drier etc. The bathroom was spacious and modern and again we were provided with toiletries .The gardens were very nice and a work in progress, i could imagine them being used for wedding reception, the hotel is set in a rural location but also close to town. An ideal base for visiting the cotswolds. People have complained about not being able to find the Southcrest but our sat nav took us straight there and it is well signposted. The menu was good and we had a lovely meal in the evening, breakfast was served fresh to order and was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Also worthy of a mention was the offers on drinks at the bar well worth staying in for. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and we look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsouthcresthotel, Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We always love hearing our guest feedback adn do try to ensure that our guest are happy.
We will listen and learn from our guest and its a joy to have your feedback
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Regards
Sharon McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
1.8 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,316 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
1.8 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcrest Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcrest Manor Hotel

Address: Pool Bank | Southcrest, Redditch B97 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Redditch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#4 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southcrest Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southcrest Manor Hotel is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day at work or sightseeing, so if you are looking for a quiet spot without being too far from anywhere, then The Southcrest Manor Hotel is just for you. Set within 10 acres of private woodland and lawns overlooking the breathtaking picturesque views of the Vale of Evesham, no other hotel near Birmingham can boast such a setting. Our hotel is situated just a short distance from Redditch Town Centre, Birmingham City Centre, the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and not to mention the famous Counties of Warwickshire and Worcester. Stratford-upon-Avon in Warwickshire, some would say is the historic cultural epicentre of Britain, housing such attractions as Shakespeare's Birthplace, the world famous Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwick Castle and Royal Leamington Spa to name but a few. The Southcrest Manor hotel aims to offer value and benefits to all guests, over and above the standard of many of its competitors. We offer inclusive Wedding packages, as well as family packages including entrance tickets to many local attractions. We will provide you with an exemplary personal service and the level of recognition that you deserve. We aim to provide you with a luxurious and relaxed environment within which to conduct your business, whether it is actual business or the business of relaxing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Southcrest Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcrest Manor Hotel And Spa
The Southcrest Manor Hotel Redditch
Quality Inn Redditch
Southcrest Hotel Redditch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing