We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant few days.”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Have just returned from a very pleasant 3 days at Abbey Hotel. We were in an executive room which was very nice. there were a couple of teething problems at first- We only had 1 chair, a bit odd in a double room but a second one was brought when we enquired. Also we didn't have any robes and when we asked about it only one could be found. Slightly irritating but no big drama. Food was nice but not spectacular, and the menu, other than the soup, remained the same all 3 nights. A daily special would make it far more appealing. Breakfast was a buffet affair. Again, nice but not spectacular.

The room was very spacious with a nice bathroom and the usual trimmings. Nice big bed, but creaky.

We didn't use the pool but it looked nice, I had a facial in the spa which was lovely. A special mention must go to the staff. They were all, without exception, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwindonCjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback following your recent 3 day stay with us. We are all so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us in one of our executive bedrooms and that you and were able to treat yourself to a lovely facial in the spa during your break. Thanks also to your wonderful comments about our staff, I know they will be thrilled to receive this feedback.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of the missing robe and chair which were not in your room upon arrival as they should be, however, am pleased this situation was rectified promptly for you. I will also be personally passing your comments reference our food menu to our Head Chef. Our menu does change on a seasonal basis to ensure the freshest ingredients are used and offer guests the option of dining from our House Menu or A’La Carte Menu. We always want to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied and always strive to provide exceptional service, so this feedback is valuable to enable us to make things even better for our guests.

Once again many thanks for your review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just returned from small family celebration at the Abbey. Our 4th. stay & our best. Had penthouse suite which was immaculate with all the facilities you could require + a view over the golf course. Cracking breakfast, if any complaints, some of our party thought it was rather noisy in the small hours! Well done Abbey!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackpalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest many thanks for your recent review we are absolutely delighted that this is your 4th enjoyable stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent a weekend break here with my other half and had a very pleasant experience. I`d booked an executive room, so was a bit disappointed not to have a view of the golf course and also no fridge. The weather was unseasonably warm for March and there was no air-conditioning in the room, which struck me as odd for a modern 4 star hotel. There was a ceiling fan but this was too noisy to be left on overnight. Also, the bed in our original room (Vale) squeaked every time you moved.
That`s all the negative stuff out of the way......
Food was good, particularly breakfast, and the pool area was warm and welcoming.
Sitting outside in the early evening watching the golfers coping with the eighth green was a relaxing way to unwind.
But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. All very efficient and with refreshing good humour. Particular mention to James in the restaurant and Carl who helped us to change rooms when a small problem arose. (the courtesy bottle of wine smoothed things along there too!)
I`d definitely consider this hotel if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabbsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear guest, many thanks for your recent review we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. We too are very proud of our hard working team so it is great to get such feedback and I will ensure your comments are shared with the team. I have highlighted your comments to James and Carl whom I know will be delighted to hear from you.

I apologise for the inconvenience of your room move during your stay. Unfortunately whilst the majority of our executive bedrooms overlook our golf course, there are three executive bedrooms which do not, any guests that request the golf course view we always strive to ensure this request is met. Currently we do not have fridges or air conditioning in our guests’ bedrooms, however, it is something we do understand is important to our guests. As a short term measure we are able to put fridges in guest bedrooms on request and the majority of our rooms have ceiling fans. We ensure our website does state what is included as standard in our executive bedrooms.

Once again many thanks for your review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just had our first of the season golf day at The Abbey. We were very well looked after buy all members of staff on the day. Everyone was very helpful and this contributed to a first class day.
The course itself is very well maintained and a challenge to all levels of golfer. All in all an excellent venue to hold your society day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Iain P,

Many thanks for your recent review following your golf society day. We are delighted that you all had a first class day. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and golf course at some point in the future.

Kind regards,
John Hindson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

For our Mom's 80th Birthday we were looking for somewhere with a private room that could accommodate up to 20 people.

We had exclusive use of the private dining room (behind Reception) for the evening and this suited us perfectly. We had access to the room in the afternoon which allowed us to put up banners, balloons etc. and therefore we had plenty of time in the afternoon to use the facilities. We thought the pool area was great - and our 14 year old Nephew particularly agreed as we pretty much had the pool to ourselves most of the time.

Some of us also stayed overnight and were very happy with the rooms and room service.

However the thing that stood out most of all throughout was the helpful and professional staff who accommodated all our needs - no matter how unusual they were. The service was wonderful from the initial booking to everyone on the night - the bar and restaurant staff and reception. All of which meant we had a fabulous time.

Room Tip: The room prices were so reasonable we opted to have a superior room but actually all the bedrooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Sarah B

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It was a pleasure and honour to celebrate your mum’s 80th Birthday with us and is so wonderful to read this fantastic feedback.

Once more thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Abbey Hotel.

Kind regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here with some friends for 1 night in Superior Rooms. We had a friendly and helpful welcome at Reception and were very pleased with our rooms which were well appointed, spacious and tastefully decorated.

We used the leisure facilities (excluding the gym!) which were very good and included a large pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi.

The breakfast was comprehensive and tasty. The area where we thought the hotel fell down was the food in Pub where we ate in the evening. Overall the meals were not of the quality you would expect for a 4* hotel.

Other than that we had a great time and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Splash out on a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewandMary_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear AndrewandMary_15

Thank you for taking the time in updating your feedback on your recent visit to The Abbey Hotel.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear you would certainly visit us again.

We value your comments and appreciate your feedback in regards to the food. We do set high standards for food quality sourcing mainly local and the freshest of ingredients. I would like to apologise if in anyway you were unhappy with your meal and do hope your feedback was given to our staff on the evening who would have ensured to have rectified any complaints you had.

Once more, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Hindson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Abbey was recommended to us by another family member and we made a wise decision when we chose to book the Henley in Arden suite for our wedding on 25th February. Both sets of parents had never planned a wedding before and felt completely at ease when meeting our wedding planner Kay, who assisted and reassured us that our every wish could be met. She was nearly as excited as we were! The day arrived and the grounds, especially enhanced for us with spring hanging baskets, were magnificent. Manager, Chris, professionally and patiently guided us through to the ceremony and helped to keep our nerves at bay. The post ceremony drinks were chilled and waiting as were the delicious canapés. We had written down all the finer details for our individual guests and tables but need not have worried. The room was magically transformed for our wedding breakfast, the linen crisp and white, the food amazing. We are still talking about the delicious halibut starter, the tender beef wellington and scrumptious chocolate brownie dessert. The waiters were attentive and cheerful. We felt unhurried and spoilt! The barman was kept busy all night! The buffet was hot, varied and plentiful even with lots of big appetites it was more than adequate. We danced till late and retired to our rooms. Everyone who stayed said how super their rooms were. Everything so fresh, clean and comfortable with lots of stylish design touches. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We didn’t have time to try out the spa but we are looking for an excuse to come back!
Thanks again to everyone involved in making our wedding day so special

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Lorna J,

Many thanks for your feedback following your wedding reception. We are so happy that you had a fantastic day! Thank you also for your comments about the bedrooms, grounds, food and the hotel staff. I look forward to passing these comments on to all staff including those you have made special mention to, Kay and Chris, who will be delighted to hear this fantastic feedback. We wish you both every happiness in your married life and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
221 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
0.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
374 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing