We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7th January 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“7th January 2014”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the year and am please to confirm that it always meets expectations. It knows how to look after you, attentive, but not in your face and offers great rooms, the one I was in was very spacious.

Good home-style food in the 'Tawny's' bar, very relaxed.

I will be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room ovelooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Nick M

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you feel that we always meet your expectations. We like to pride ourselves on the level of service that we offer and I am so pleased that you feel we do this consistently without being obtrusive.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    639
    247
    76
    22
See reviews for
559
493
25
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A group of friends just spent a couple of days over new year at the abbey hotel and it was fantastic. Nice large rooms on the ground floor, clean and spacious. Spa area is small but well maintained and clean. Three bars so plenty of room. The food in the bramble restaurant was excellent. The New Year's Eve masquerade ball was wonderful from the champagne reception with canapés to the 4 course dinner. Atmosphere was brilliant, the staff were very good throughout our stay. Will defo be returning to play golf and visit the hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Jogar16,

WOW Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review following your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel, Golf and Spa over New Year.

To hear how much you enjoyed your time, remarking on our Masquerade Ball being “ wonderful with the atmosphere being “brilliant” is great to here. The comments regarding our staff means a lot to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments

Once again thank you for your booking and choosing to celebrate New Year here at the Abbey. We would like to wish you all a happy and prosperous 2014 and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

On arrive found reception staff very helpful and polite assigned our room which was clean and well maintained infact the complete hotel is very well maintained chatted to the maintance team who very very busy new years eve as the room door system crashed and where busy reprogramming all the door locks but it was not a problem and they got everything working. The pool and gym area was nice and clean the pool was just the right temp and again very well maintained. Breakfast was really nice buffet style which I prefer plenty of choice for everybody hot food was cooked nice not over done or looked like it had been there along time.no complaints at all. The new year gala ball
again staff worked very hard meal was nice enterainment was good. Good value for money would look at booking again next year or maybe during the year

Room Tip: all the rooms looked about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Mick-Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mick and Sue Bennett,

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa over New Year and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and really appreciate your comments regarding our New Years Eve Gala Package.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and, I would like to take this opportunity to wish you both a happy and prosperous 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Lovely place but buffet breakfast shocking. Dried up mushrooms no beans or tomatoes just juice , uncooked bacon, toast on rations, my advice is go to mcdonalds up the road for breakfast really upset me after a nice stay at a nice hotel , what a shame as it seemed no one was watching over the breakfast buffet area , we went home fuming which is not what I wanted but it really upset me

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mark J,

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

I am happy overall you had a nice day, but am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that your comments with regards to breakfast have been passed onto our Food and Beverage manager so that the aspects raised can be addressed fully. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and at this point I can only apologise that you felt you did not receive this.

Once again thank you for your comments, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and demonstrate that your restaurant experience was an exception to the rule.

Kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

booked in for one night b & b XMAS DINNER AND ENTERTAINMENT and i have to say it was above expectations. a large group of friends all booked for the christmas entertainment and that was a hit from the start and the food was very well presented with all the trimmings but not a good judge of the quality of the food as all you dairy freeks would have gone OD on the sweet but for me i can't do... but it smelt gorgous. the room was exceptionally clean and high class, well the room our friends were in but as they were over booked i ended up in the suite and that's a bigger version of their room and oh so nice. of course we had full access for the spa facilities and the bar overlooked the 18th. one thing that really stood out was the staff courtesy and the fact they walk around with out their eyes on the floor..... well done to them

Room Tip: if you are there for entertainment rooms near to the penthouse suites or malvern are closer to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Colin P

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your comments regarding one of our Christmas Party-night packages which included entertainment. With regards to the menu, we do strive to cater for any dietary requirements and are able to offer suitable alternatives once bought to our attention.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here the w/e 7/12/2013, as we had secretly got married. The hotel was amazing, the rooms spacious and so clean, and the food was excellent.
A huge thank you to Zoe who was a great help and very accommodating and made my wedding day extra special by placing rose petals on our bed, and also booked us a table in the tawny bar as the main function rooms were being used. She is a gem.
All the staff are very pleasant and go the extra mile too.
I would recommend this hotel and it cannot be faulted. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and had no problems, what a wonderful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pelecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear pelecara
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your wedding celebration at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We truly hope you had a fantastic day.

I look forward to passing your wonderful comments onto all our team and have already expressed your thanks onto Zoey who is absolutely thrilled.

Once again many congratulations and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Abbey.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We return to this hotel three ir fiur times a year. Everything about the hotel, the staff, the service and the location is to our liking. The golf course is always very challenging and my partner enjoys the Spa facilities. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and we have never had a bad breakfast or dinner experience. We are most certainly looking forward to our next stay over the Xmas period.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevedelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Stevedelb,
Thank you so much for your review and return visit to the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We always love welcoming guests back and to hear your stay was just as previous stays means a lot to us.

We are thrilled that everything is to your liking and thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and the facilities, from the golf course and spa facilities to the breakfast and dining experience.

Thank you so much again and we look forward to welcoming you back again over the Christmas period to the Abbey.

With Kindest Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
18.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Hither Green Lane, Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned 4* Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire. The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring 100 contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! Whatever the occasion we look forward to welcoming you to our award winning, family owned 4* Hotel in Redditch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing