We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me and husband revisited the Abbey for afternoon tea and spa day. It was lovely and the afternoon tea in the restaurant was lovely. We were offered plenty of tea and lots of food. We were even asked if we needed more, which we didn't. Spa area was clean and was a most enjoyable day. All members of staff we encountered were lovely. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristabelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Kristabelles

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on Tripadvisor following on from your revisit to the at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased that you firstly, gave us the opportunity to rectify the issues from your previous visit and, secondly, had an “enjoyable day” with us.

The feedback that we receive is very important and is always taken seriously in order for us to improve the customer experience.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    633
    244
    73
    22
See reviews for
552
486
25
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to celebrate my birthday by a two night stay with family and friends. The staff were extremely helpful, the food and service great and all 28 of us had a wonderful time. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Geraldine B
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your Birthday celebration weekend at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We truly hope you had a fantastic birthday.

To hear how much you enjoyed your time, remarking on our helpful staff and both the food and service being “great” really is lovely to here. We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.
We all really hoped you had a wonderful 70th Birthday and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Abbey again.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I booked this stay for my parents-in-law stay for a period of 2 nights as a surprise 70th birthday present. I wanted some thing different and special. And boy oh boy did this manage to achieve that for them.

They stayed in one of the excitive suites which they did nothing but praise. It was very spacious, and very clean - a good high standard and first impression.

I spoke to the reception staff on various occasions - the Sales Team again on numerous occasions - then there was the Spa staff, the cleaning staff - as well as all the bar staff and serving staff that we all came into contact with.

No matter what we asked, how strange the request, how unorganised we were, and I have no doubt very frustrating - the team went out of their way to accommodate our needs and even offered more reasonable alternatives to us. They made out side arrangements to have specific things brought in, all with patience and professionalism

In summary the staff were very patient , very pleasing and exceptionally helpful and I know my in-laws had a wonderful evening and stay.

So if you are looking for something special then I would recommend the Abbey Hotel without a second thought.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Donna L

Thank you for choosing the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa to celebrate your parents-in-law 70th birthday
We are so grateful to hear these lovely comments and to have been a part of your family’s celebration weekend. The comments regarding our staff means a lot to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.
Once again thank you for your booking and choosing to celebrate here at the Abbey. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've stayed at the Abbey off and on for 4 years often with my business colleagues, I've often recommended it to others but maybe not in future. Last night I didn't get my usual room instead close to reception and woke up at 12.30 in the night by other residents. I made my point to the receptionist this morning who frankly wasn't interested, so I may look elsewhere in future. A colleague of mine had the same issue as well last night.

Both of us travel 100's of miles a week and having a good nights sleep isn't too much to ask for, is it?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception, not over the bar and away from the golf entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear timbers1234

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your loyal custom over the previous four years. Upon reading your feedback our Operations Director has contacted you to discuss the issues raised further. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive, to the moment they leave, and at this point I can only apologise that you felt you did not receive this.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Abbey again and demonstrate that your experience was an exception to the rule.

Kindest Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stay at this hotel a number of times and it always is of a very high standard. the staff make you very welcome. It is in a good location, The room we had was clean, with a wonderful large bed. the food was of a very good standard, with a well laid out breakfast bar will be back next time we are in the Redditch area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Colin R

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and really appreciate your comments with regards to the cleanliness of the bedroom and the standard of the food.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in the area.

With kindest regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We are a family of 5 (2 Adults and 3 Children) and we stayed for one night at the Abbey Hotel after a visit to Cadbury World - about 20 mins by car. The cost was 99 pounds including breakfast which was excellent value.
We stayed in a family room with 2 kids in the fold out sofa and 1 on a rollaway. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
We ate at the Tawneys Pub Restaurant. The food was ok. Breakfast was in the Bramblings restaurant and there was a good variety. Service was excellent and very appreciative of the wait staff who helped tidy up after my 2 year was sick in her cereal bowl... so embarrased but staff were great.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiffeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear LiffeyP
Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your comments about “excellent value”, “comfortable beds” and “excellent service”.
We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments, especially the restaurant staff. I can only hope that your daughter is now fully recovered and that you had a safe journey home.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again when you next travel to England.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the year and am please to confirm that it always meets expectations. It knows how to look after you, attentive, but not in your face and offers great rooms, the one I was in was very spacious.

Good home-style food in the 'Tawny's' bar, very relaxed.

I will be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room ovelooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Nick M

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you feel that we always meet your expectations. We like to pride ourselves on the level of service that we offer and I am so pleased that you feel we do this consistently without being obtrusive.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
18.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Hither Green Lane, Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned 4* Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire. The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring 100 contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! Whatever the occasion we look forward to welcoming you to our award winning, family owned 4* Hotel in Redditch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing